Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Trance Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A thieving art auctioneer seeks the help of an alluring hypnotherapist in order to repair his damaged memory and recover the treasured Goya painting that he stashed following a brazen heist in this kinetic thriller reteaming Oscar-winning [[Feature~V415379~Slumdog Millionaire~slumdogmillionaire]] director [[Performer~P188724~Danny Boyle~dannyboyle]] with [[Feature~V135870~Trainspotting~trainspotting]] and [[Feature~V134210~Shallow Grave~shallowgrave]] screenwriter [[Performer~P190622~John Hodge~johnhodge]]. Adapted from the 2001 made-for-television feature by writer/director [[Performer~P287848~Joe Ahearne~joeahearne]] (who collaborated with [[Performer~P190622~Hodge~johnhodge]] on the screenplay), Trance finds prominent art auctioneer Simon ([[Performer~P357725~James McAvoy~jamesmcavoy]]) dealing with brain damage after he teams with crime boss Franck ([[Performer~P198972~Vincent Cassel~vincentcassel]]) to steal a Goya from an auction, then tries unsuccessfully to double-cross his fierce accomplice. In response, Franck knocks Simon unconscious with a vicious blow to the skull, wiping out any memory concerning the whereabouts of the prized painting. When Simon claims to have no recollection of where he hid the stolen masterpiece, Franck and his crew grudgingly agree to let talented hypnotherapist Elizabeth ([[Performer~P199028~Rosario Dawson~rosariodawson]]) try and pinpoint its location. Now, the deeper Elizabeth probes into Simon's subconscious, the more complex the mystery seems to grow. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 5, 2013

Cast

James McAvoy
as Simon
Vincent Cassel
as Franck
Rosario Dawson
as Elizabeth
Danny Sapani
as Nate
Tuppence Middleton
as Young Woman in Red Car
Simon Kunz
as Surgeon
Michael Shaeffer
as Security Guard #1
Tony Jayawardena
as Security Guard #2
Vincent Montuel
as Handsome Waiter
Spencer Wilding
as 60s Robber

Crew

Danny Boyle
Director
Danny Boyle
Producer
Christian Colson
Producer
Joe Ahearne
Screenwriter
John Hodge
Screenwriter
Anthony Dod Mantle
Cinematographer
Jon Harris
Editor
Mark Tildesley
Production Designer
Dennis Schnegg
Supervising Art Director
Cameron Mccracken
Executive Producer
Steven Rales
Executive Producer
François Ivernel
Executive Producer
Bernard Bellew
Executive Producer
Tessa Ross
Executive Producer
Mark Roybal
Executive Producer
Suttirat Anne Larlarb
Costume Designer
Dominic Capon
Set Decorator
Glenn Freemantle
Sound/Sound Designer
Gail Stevens
Casting
Donna Isaacson
Casting
Fiona Garland
Production Coordinator
Carlos Fidel
Second Assistant Director
Glenn Freemantle
Supervising Sound Editor
Christine Blundell
Makeup
Christine Blundell
Hair Designer
Adam Gascoyne
Visual Effects Supervisor
Ian Tapp
Re-Recording Mixer
Julian Spencer
Stunts Coordinator
Lesa Warrener
Makeup
Lesa Warrener
Hair Designer
Tania Windsor Blunden
Post Production Supervisor
Niv Adiri
Re-Recording Mixer
Niv Adiri
Sound Effects Editor
Ben Barker
Sound Effects Editor
Simon Hayes
Production Sound Mixer
Advertisement