Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Top Hat Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of the best of the [[Performer~P80113~Fred Astaire~fredastaire]]-[[Performer~P61099~Ginger Rogers~gingerrogers]] musicals, [[Feature~V156697~Top Hat~chapeauclaque]] centers on a typical mistaken-identity plot, with wealthy Dale Tremont ([[Performer~P61099~Rogers~gingerrogers]]), on holiday in London and Venice, assuming that American entertainer Jerry Travers ([[Performer~P80113~Astaire~fredastaire]]) is the husband of her friend Madge ([[Performer~P8624~Helen Broderick~helenbroderick]]) -- who's actually the wife of Jerry's business manager Horace Hardwick ([[Performer~P33323~Edward Everett Horton~edwardeveretthorton]]). Complicating matters is Dale's jealous suitor Beddini ([[Performer~P59861~Erik Rhodes~erikrhodes]]), whose motto is "For the woman the kiss -- for the man the sword." Beddini is disposed of by some last-minute chicanery on the part of Jerry's faithful valet Bates ([[Performer~P6839~Eric Blore~ericblore]]), paving the way for the happy ending everyone knew was coming from the opening scene. The [[Performer~P5711~Irving Berlin~irvingberlin]] score includes "Cheek to Cheek," "Isn't it a Lovely Day?," and the jaunty title song. The charisma of the stars, the chemistry of the supporting players, the white-telephone art direction of [[Performer~P106751~Van Nest Polglaise~vannestpolglase]], the superlative choreography by [[Performer~P80113~Astaire~fredastaire]] and [[Performer~P105488~Hermes Pan~hermespan]], and the effervescent direction of [[Performer~P109784~Mark Sandrich~marksandrich]] all combine to make [[Feature~V156697~Top Hat~chapeauclaque]] a winner. Originally released at 101 minutes, the film was for many years available only in its 93-minute reissue form; it has since been restored archivally to 99 minutes. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 6, 1935

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Hermes Pan Best Dance Direction 1935 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Van Nest Polglase Best Art Direction 1935 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Irving Berlin Best Song 1935 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Carroll Clark Best Art Direction 1935 Nominee

Cast

Fred Astaire
as Jerry Travers
Ginger Rogers
as Dale Tremont
Edward Everett Horton
as Horace Hardwick
Erik Rhodes
as Alberto Beddini
Helen Broderick
as Madge Hardwick
Eric Blore
as Bates
Peter Hobbes
as Call Boy
Leonard Mudie
as Flower Salesman
Lucille Ball
as Flower Clerk
Gino Corrado
as Hotel Manager
Phyllis Coghlan
Ben Holmes
Frank Mills
as Lido Waiter
Edgar Norton
as Hotel Manager
Dennis O'Keefe
as Elevator Passenger
Charlie Hall
Tom Ricketts
as Thackeray Club Waiter

Crew

Mark Sandrich
Director
Pandro S. Berman
Producer
Dwight Taylor
Screenwriter
Vernon Walker
Cinematographer
Max Steiner
Musical Direction/Supervision
Irving Berlin
Songwriter
Carroll Clark
Art Director
Van Nest Polglase
Art Director
Vernon Walker
Special Effects
Hermes Pan
Choreography
Fred Astaire
Choreography
Mel Burns
Makeup
Advertisement