Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Topaz Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Filmed on locations ranging from Denmark to the Universal backlot, [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s Topaz is based on a novel by [[Performer~P114920~Leon Uris~leonuris]]. [[Performer~P67476~Frederick Stafford~frederickstafford]], a veteran of European-filmed James Bond rip-offs of the 1960s, is cast as Andre Devereaux, a French secret agent assigned to snoop around Cuba in the months prior to the 1962 missile crisis. Someone is supplying [[Performer~P11761~Castro~fidelcastro]] -- and, by extension, Moscow -- with NATO secrets; it is up to Devereaux to liquidate the "mole." Aiding Devereaux is CIA agent Nordstrom ([[Performer~P24380~John Forsythe~johnforsythe]]) and aristocratic anti-[[Performer~P11761~Castro~fidelcastro]] Cuban Juanita ([[Performer~P19703~Karin Dor~karindor]]), who happens to be the girlfriend of pro-[[Performer~P11761~Castroite~fidelcastro]] Rico Parra ([[Performer~P73373~John Vernon~johnvernon]]). The director seems to be in awe of the fact-based storyline, and as a result, the film is more cut-and-dried than most [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] efforts. Three different endings were filmed for Topaz; the Laserdisc version carries all three, as does the print available to the American Movie Classics cable service. According to the MPAA, the film was originally rated M but later changed to PG; however, a number of home-video issues of Topaz officially list it as "Not Rated." ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 17, 1969

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Philippe Noiret Best Supporting Actor 1969 Winner
National Board of Review Alfred Hitchcock Best Director 1969 Winner

Cast

Dany Robin
as Nicole Devereaux
John Vernon
as Rico Parra
Karin Dor
as Juanita De Cordoba
Michel Piccoli
as Jacques Granville
Philippe Noiret
as Henri Jarre
Claude Jade
as Michele Picard
Michel Subor
as Francois Picard
Per-Axel Arosenius
as Boris Kusenov
John Forsythe
as Michael Nordstrom
Roscoe Lee Browne
as Philippe Dubois
Roberto Contreras
as Munoz
Carlos Rivas
as Hernandez
Don Randolph
as Luis Uribe
George Skaff
as Rene d'Arcy
Roger Til
as Jean Chabrier
Sonja Kolthoff
as Mrs. Kusenov
Tina Hedstrom
as Tamara Kusenov
John van Dreelen
as Claude Martin
Anna Navarro
as Mrs. Mendoza
Lewis Charles
as Mr. Mendoza

Crew

Alfred Hitchcock
Director
Alfred Hitchcock
Producer
Jack Hildyard
Cinematographer
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Maurice Jarre
Musical Direction/Supervision
William H. Ziegler
Editor
Henry Bumstead
Production Designer
Herbert Coleman
Associate Producer
John P. Austin
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Albert J. Whitlock
Special Effects
Wallace Worsley, Jr.
Production Manager
Bud Westmore
Makeup
Leonard Engelman
Makeup
Orin Borsten
Publicist
Advertisement