Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Tomorrow Never Dies Details


Roger Spottiswoode (Roger Spottiswoode) directed this film, the 18th chapter in the 35-year-old James Bond series (excluding Casino Royale and Never Say Never Again). James Bond (Pierce Brosnan) learns billionaire media mogul Elliot Carver (Jonathan Pryce) is manipulating world events via an exclusive flow of information through his satellite system reaching all corners of the planet. With a stealth battleship sinking a British naval vessel, Carver sees that the Chinese are blamed. Crashing Carver's party in Hamburg, Bond meets "journalist" Wai Lin (Michelle Yeoh), later revealed as a Chinese agent. In a brief tryst, Bond renews his past relationship with Carver's wife Paris (Teri Hatcher). Carver dispatches Stamper (Gotz Otto) and other goons to cancel Bond, who eludes attackers with some of his new gadgets. In Southeast Asia, after Bond and Wai Lin scuba dive into the sunken British ship, they are captured by Stamper, handcuffed, and taken to Saigon where they make a motorcycle escape. To thwart Carver's plans for WWIII, the two agents head for Carver's stealth ship where a cruise missile is aimed at Beijing. Principal photography began April 1, 1997 in the new Eon Productions studio facility at Frogmore, northwest of London, and on the 007 stage at Pinewood Studios. Locations included the UK, Hamburg, Southeast Asia, Mexico, and off the Florida coast. The trademark Bond pre-title sequence was filmed in the French Pyrenees snowfields, centered around one of the few high-altitude operational airfields in Europe. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:December 12, 1997


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Mitchell Froom Best Original Song 1997 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Sheryl Crow Best Original Song 1997 Nominee


Pierce Brosnan
as James Bond
Jonathan Pryce
as Elliot Carver
Michelle Yeoh
as Wai Lin
Teri Hatcher
as Paris Carver
Joe Don Baker
as Wade
Ricky Jay
as Henry Gupta
Götz Otto
as Stamper
Judi Dench
as M
Desmond Llewelyn
as Q
Vincent Schiavelli
as Dr. Kaufman
Geoffrey Palmer
as Admiral Roebuck
Colin Salmon
as Robinson
Samantha Bond
as Moneypenny
Gerard Butler
as Seaman
Hugh Bonneville
as Air Warfare Officer (H.M.S. Bedford)
Gerard Butler
as Seaman


Roger Spottiswoode
Michael G. Wilson
Barbara Broccoli
Jonathan P.B. Taylor
Bruce Feirstein
Robert Elswit
Mitchell Froom
Sheryl Crow
David Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
Michel Arcand
Dominique Fortin
Allan Cameron
Production Designer
Tony Reading
Art Director
Ken Court
Art Director
Stephen Scott
Art Director
Giles Masters
Art Director
Jonathan Lee
Art Director
Peter Young
Set Designer
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
Chris Munro
Sound/Sound Designer
Gerry Gavigan
First Assistant Director
Debbie McWilliams
Callum McDougall
Production Manager
Don Lusher
Musical Performer
Anthony Waye
Line Producer
Sheryl Crow
Musical Performer
Vic Armstrong
Stunts Coordinator
Vic Armstrong
Second Unit Director
Dickey Beer
Stunts Coordinator
Chris Corbould
Special Effects Supervisor