Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Tom Thumb Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Producer/animator/special-effect maven George Pal made his feature-film directorial bow with the colorful MGM musical fantasy [[Feature~V50318~Tom Thumb~tomthumb]] (the title of the film was spelled in lower case in the opening credits, and in all studio publicity material). [[Performer~P69732~Russ Tamblyn~russtamblyn]] stars as the teeny-tiny titular protagonist, while veteran musicomedy favorite [[Performer~P46385~Jessie Mathews~jamesmathews]] and stellar character actor [[Performer~P49099~Bernard Miles~bernardmiles]] portray Tom's normal-sized parents. Journeying to the Village, Tom is pounced upon by villains Ivan ([[Performer~P70358~Terry-Thomas~terrythomas]]) and Tony (a corpulent [[Performer~P64447~Peter Sellers~petersellers]]), who intend to exploit our 5 1/2-inch-tall hero. In-between his misadventures with the villains, Tom helps to expedite the romance between young forester Woody ([[Performer~P78122~Alan Young~alanyoung]]) and the magical Forest Queen ([[Performer~P70797~June Thorburn~junethorburn]]). Throughout, the special effects and oversized sets are first-rate, as are the "puppetoons" sequences featuring such delightful characters as The Yawning Man (voice by [[Performer~P24902~Stan Freberg~stanfreberg]]). Written by several hands, the film's songs are hummable, if not particularly memorable. It is said that some children in the audience in 1958 were genuinely frightened by the more horrific aspects of the story (including the threatened execution of Tom's parents); it may be, however, that the adults were more scared than the kids. Incidentally, while most of [[Feature~V50318~Tom Thumb~tomthumb]] was filmed in MGM's London facilities, the special effects were produced in Hollywood, requiring [[Performer~P69732~Russ Tamblyn~russtamblyn]] to do a lot of travelling. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Russ Tamblyn
as Tom Thumb
Alan Young
as Woody, the Piper
Terry-Thomas
as Ivan
Peter Sellers
as Tony
Jessie Matthews
as Anna
June Thorburn
as The Forest Queen
Bernard Miles
as Tom's Father
Dal McKennon
as Con-fu-shon
Barbara Ferris
as Thumbelina
Peter Bull
as The Town Crier
Stan Freberg
as Yawning Man
Dom DeLuise

Crew

George Pal
Director
George Pal
Producer
Ladislas Fodor
Screenwriter
Georges Périnal
Cinematographer
Peggy Lee
Songwriter
Kermit Goell
Songwriter
Muir Mathieson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Fred Spielman
Songwriter
Janice Torre
Songwriter
Douglas Gamley
Composer (Music Score)
Olga Lehmann
Costume Designer
Wah Chang
Animator
Alex Romero
Choreography
Advertisement