Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

To Walk With Lions Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The story of [[Performer~P79050~George Adamson~georgeadamson]], whose work helped inspire the book and subsequent film [[Feature~V6734~Born Free~bornfree]], is continued in the fact-based drama To Walk With Lions. In Kenya in the late 1980's, Tony Fitzjohn ([[Performer~P146546~John Michie~johnmichie]]) is a young man from London who has a job as a driver with a safari guide company. However, Tony's commitment is less to exploring the wilds than in picking up women (especially wealthy tourists), so when he's fired, Tony just wants to get another job fast to get airfare home. The first position he finds is assisting George Adamson ([[Performer~P93538~Richard Harris~richardharris]]), who with his bother Terence ([[Performer~P3742~Ian Bannen~ianbannen]]) helps "rehabilitate" lions from zoos and returns them to the wild. George is more devoted to his animals than to most people, but a bond of respect and understanding develops between George and Tony, and Tony develops a similar rapport with the lions. Tony also develops a different sort of attachment to Lucy ([[Performer~P24570~Kerry Fox~kerryfox]]), a British anthropologist studying indigenous tribes in Kenya. However, the tone shifts when George's ex-wife, Joy ([[Performer~P6466~Honor Blackman~honorblackman]]) arrives for a visit. George and Joy did not separate on cordial terms, and their meeting is brief and contentious (while Joy made a tidy sum from the book Born Free, George never received any of the money for his continuing work with the lions). Shortly after her departure, Joy is killed by one of her servants. While To Walk With Lions is in several respects critical of the wildlife policies of the Kenyan government, the film was financed in part by Kenyans and was filmed in Kenya with the support and cooperation of state authorities. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Genie Awards Jean Lepine Best Cinematography 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Michael Gurman Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Richard Betanzos Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Steven Gorman Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Vincent Regaudie Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Ian Bannen Best Supporting Actor 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Glenn Tussman Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee

Cast

Richard Harris
as George Adamson
John Michie
as Tony Fitzjohn
Ian Bannen
as Terence Adamson
Kerry Fox
as Lucy Jackson
Hugh Quarshie
as Maxwell
Honor Blackman
as Joy Adamson
Geraldine Chaplin
as Victoria Andrecelli

Crew

Carl Schultz
Director
Pieter Kroonenburg
Producer
Julie Allan
Producer
Jean Lepine
Cinematographer
Angelo Corrao
Editor
Jamie Brown
Co-producer
John Buchanan
Executive Producer
Lulu Archer
Set Designer
Nicole Pelletier
Costume Designer
Suzy Belcher
Costume Designer
Vincent Regaudie
Sound/Sound Designer
Stuart French
Sound/Sound Designer
Glenn Tussman
Sound/Sound Designer
John Board
First Assistant Director
Lenny Juma
Casting
John Hubbard
Casting
Sarah Beardsall
Casting
Steven Gorman
Sound Editor
Richard Betanzos
Sound Editor
Gary Howsam
Co-Executive Producer
Helene Boulay
Line Producer
Michael Gurman
Sound Editor
Guy Collins
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement