Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

To Kill a King Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

British filmmaker [[Performer~P231015~Mike Barker~mikebarker]] directs the political costume-drama To Kill a King. Set in 1645 at the end of the English Civil War, General Thomas Fairfax ([[Performer~P223574~Dougray Scott~dougrayscott]]) celebrates the victory with his right-hand man Oliver Cromwell ([[Performer~P61768~Tim Roth~timroth]]). While, King Charles I ([[Performer~P22333~Rupert Everett~ruperteverett]]) is held prisoner, he appeals to the sensibilities of Fairfax's wife, Lady Anne ([[Performer~P233155~Olivia Williams~oliviawilliams]]). The old friends disagree over what to do about the king; Fairfax is willing to compromise and Cromwell is far more strict. The Speaker of the House, Denzil Holles ([[Performer~P7093~James Bolam~jamesbolam]]), leads a group of conspirators to make an illegal deal with the king, but they are discovered and subsequently punished. The king is put on trial and executed, making Cromwell in charge. The conclusion involves a reunion between Fairfax and a dying Cromwell. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Cast

Tim Roth
as Oliver Cromwell
Dougray Scott
as General Thomas Fairfax
Rupert Everett
as King Charles I
Olivia Williams
as Lady Anne
James Bolam
as Denzil Holles
Corin Redgrave
as Lord de Vere
Finbar Lynch
as Cousin Henry
Julian Rhind-Tutt
as James
Adrian Scarborough
as Sgt. Joyce
Jeremy Swift
as Earl of Whitby
Benedict Cumberbatch
as Royalist

Crew

Mike Barker
Director
Kevin Loader
Producer
Jenny Mayhew
Screenwriter
Eigil Bryld
Cinematographer
Richard Mitchell
Composer (Music Score)
Guy Bensley
Editor
Sophie Becher
Production Designer
James Foster
Art Director
Kathy Sykes
Co-producer
Bradley Adams
Associate Producer
Dougray Scott
Associate Producer
Christopher Petzel
Executive Producer
Paul Webster
Executive Producer
Scott Karol
Executive Producer
Tom Parkhouse
Executive Producer
Rudolf Wiesmeier
Executive Producer
John Bloomfield
Costume Designer
Colin Cooper
Sound/Sound Designer
David Crozier
Sound/Sound Designer
Sarah Trevis
Casting
Christine Blundell
Makeup
Advertisement