Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

To Have and Have Not Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P7027~Humphrey Bogart~humphreybogart]] plays Harry Morgan, owner-operator of charter boat in wartime Martinique. Morgan's right-hand man is Eddie ([[Performer~P8313~Walter Brennan~walterbrennan]]), a garrulous alky whose pet question to anyone and everyone is "Ever get stung by a dead bee?" While in port, Harry is approached by Free French activist Gerard ([[Performer~P16657~Marcel Dalio~marceldalio]]), who wants to charter Harry's boat to smuggle in an important underground leader. Adopting his usual I-stick-my-neck-out-for-no-one stance, Morgan refuses. Later on, he starts up a dalliance with Marie Browning (screen newcomer [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]]), an attractive pickpocket. In order to help Marie return to America, Harry agrees to Gerard's smuggling terms. He uses his boat to bring resistance fighter De Bursac ([[Performer~P49955~Walter Molnar~waltermolnar]]) and De Bursac's wife Helene ([[Performer~P50437~Dolores Moran~doloresmoran]]) into Martinique. The Vichy police, suspecting that something's amiss, hold Morgan's pal Eddie hostage, tormenting the poor rummy by denying him liquor. Predictably, Morgan comes to Eddie's rescue and manages to escape Martinique, with the delectable Marie as cozy company. In the hands of director [[Performer~P93764~Howard Hawks~howardhawks]] and screenwriters [[Performer~P90780~Jules Furthman~julesfurthman]] and [[Performer~P89444~William Faulkner~williamfaulkner]], the end result bore only a passing relation to the original story by [[Performer~P217464~Ernest Hemingway~ernesthemingway]]: instead, it was a virtual rehash (but a good one!) of the recently released [[Feature~V8482~Casablanca~casablanca]], replete with several of that film's cast members. The film's enduring popularity is primarily -- if not solely -- due to the sexy chemistry between [[Performer~P7027~Bogart~humphreybogart]] and [[Performer~P3116~Bacall~laurenbacall]], especially in the legendary "You know how to whistle, don't you?" scene. The most salutary result of To Have & Have Not was the subsequent [[Performer~P7027~Bogart~humphreybogart]]-[[Performer~P3116~Bacall~laurenbacall]] marriage, which endured until his death in 1957. It's widely believed that [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]]'s singing voice was dubbed in by a pre-puberty Andy Williams; this is not true. For the record, a more faithful-to-the-source cinemadaptation of the [[Performer~P217464~Hemingway~ernesthemingway]] original was filmed in 1950 as [[Feature~V179071~The Breaking Point~breakingpoint]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 11, 1944

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Humphrey Bogart Best Acting 1944 Winner

Cast

Humphrey Bogart
as Harry Morgan
Walter Brennan
as Eddie
Lauren Bacall
as Marie Browning (Slim)
Dolores Moran
as Helene De Bursac
Dan Seymour
as Capt. M. Renard
Hoagy Carmichael
as Cricket
Marcel Dalio
as Gerard (Frenchy)
Walter Molnar
as Paul de Bursac
Sheldon Leonard
as Lieutenant Coyo
Walter Sande
as Johnson
Aldo Nadi
as Bodyguard
Paul Marion
as Beauclerc
Patricia Shay
as Mrs. Beauclerc
Pat West
as Bartender
Harold Garrison
as Black Urchin
Jack Chefe
as Guide
Louis Mercier
as Gaulist
Pedro Regas
as Civilian
Adrienne D'Ambricourt
as Cashier
Crane Whitley
as DeGaullists
Maurice Marsac
as Gaulist
Elzie Emanuel
as Child
Eugene Borden
as Quartermaster
George Sorel
as French Officer

Crew

Howard Hawks
Director
Howard Hawks
Producer
Jules Furthman
Screenwriter
William Faulkner
Screenwriter
Sidney Hickox
Cinematographer
Leo F. Forbstein
Composer (Music Score)
Leo F. Forbstein
Musical Direction/Supervision
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Max Steiner
Composer (Music Score)
Christian Nyby
Editor
Charles Novi
Art Director
Casey Roberts
Set Designer
Milo Anderson
Costume Designer
Rex Wimpy
Special Effects
Roy Davidson
Special Effects
Jack Sullivan
First Assistant Director
Perc Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement