Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Tigerland Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A young man tries to fight the military system only to find it fighting back in unexpected ways in this hard-edged drama. In 1971, Roland Bozz ([[Performer~P22766~Colin Farrell~colinfarrell]]) is a draftee who has been sent to the Advanced Infantry Training Facility in Fort Polk, LA, where with hundreds of other new soldiers he's to be taught a final course in combat skills before being shipped out to Vietnam. Bozz has no interest in going to war, and is determined to get sent home as a troublemaker. But his plan backfires; his superiors regard his insubordination as a sign of intelligence and independent thinking, and he's told he might some day become an officer. Bozz and his fellow soldiers -- aspiring writer Paxton ([[Performer~P277848~Matthew Davis~matthewdavis]]), sensitive Miter ([[Performer~P272681~Clifton Collins Jr.~cliftoncollinsjr]]), philosophical Cantwell (Thomas Guiry), bloodthirsty Wilson ([[Performer~P279162~Shea Whigham~sheawhigham]]), and heroic Johnson ([[Performer~P272668~Russell Richardson~russellrichardson]]) -- are taught how to survive as they face their fears of death and wonder if they can somehow escape going to war. Tigerland was directed by [[Performer~P110432~Joel Schumacher~joelschumacher]]; in a change of pace from his best-known work ([[Feature~V16651~Falling Down~fallingdown]], [[Feature~V134815~Batman Forever~batmanforever]], and [[Feature~V154937~Batman and Robin~batmanrobin]]), the film was made on a relatively low budget (under $10 million), was written by first-time screenwriters [[Performer~P279164~Ross Klavan~rossklavan]] and [[Performer~P279165~Michael McGruther~michaelmcgruther]], and features a cast of young, little-known actors. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 22, 2000

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Michael McGruther Best First Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Ross Klavan Best First Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Cole Hauser Best Supporting Actor 2000 Nominee

Crew

Joel Schumacher
Director
Steven Haft
Producer
Arnon Milchan
Producer
Beau Flynn
Producer
Michael McGruther
Screenwriter
Ross Klavan
Screenwriter
Matthew J. Libatique
Cinematographer
Nathan Larson
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Stevens
Editor
Andrew Laws
Production Designer
Eli Richbourg
Associate Producer
Ted Kurdyla
Executive Producer
Jay Meagher
Sound/Sound Designer
Glen Trotiner
First Assistant Director
Mali Finn
Casting
Advertisement