Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Three... Extremes Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Three Asian directors, from Hong Kong, Korea, and Japan, join forces to create an omnibus horror film, Three...Extremes. In [[Performer~P204539~Fruit Chan~fruitchan]]'s "Dumplings," shot by [[Performer~P88185~Christopher Doyle~christopherdoyle]], Mrs. Li ([[Performer~P305639~Miriam Yeung~miriamyeung]]), a thirtysomething former actress with a philandering husband ([[Performer~P36583~Tony Leung~tonyleungkarfai]]) goes to visit Aunt Mei ([[Performer~P131096~Bai Ling~bailing]]), who sells the most expensive dumplings in Hong Kong. Mrs. Li knows about their rejuvenating powers, and she also knows about their unpleasant main ingredient, but after some initial nausea, she digs right in. In [[Feature~V302421~Oldboy~oldboy]] writer/director [[Performer~P293448~Park Chan-wook~parkchanwook]]'s "Cut," a successful filmmaker ([[Performer~P270152~Lee Byung-hun~leebyunghun]] of [[Feature~V227029~Joint Security Area~jsajointsecurityarea]]) arrives home to find that a disgruntled extra ([[Performer~P416062~Lim Won-hee~limwonhee]]) has taken over his home, and fastened his pianist wife ([[Performer~P390052~Kang Hye-jun~ganghyejeong]] of [[Feature~V302421~Oldboy~oldboy]]) to the grand piano. The madman threatens to cut off the wife's fingers, one by one, unless the director strangles the helpless child he's tied to the couch. [[Performer~P235203~Takashi Miike~takashimiike]] directs the last segment, "Box," about a young author and former circus performer, Kyoko ([[Performer~P416065~Kyoko Hasegawa~kyokohasegawa]]), seemingly haunted by the ghost of her twin sister, who died a mysterious and horrible death while practicing their act. Adding to Kyoko's trauma, her editor ([[Performer~P230931~Atsuro Watabe~atsurowatabe]]) is a dead ringer for her old stepfather/ringmaster, who may have perished in the same "accident" that took her sister's life. Three...Extremes was shown at Subway Cinema's New York Asian Film Festival in 2005. For the American release of Three...Extremes, the order in which the films are presented was altered from the original "Box," "Dumplings," and "Cut" to "Dumplings," "Cut," and "Box." This film was actually preceded by another omnibus film, [[Feature~V343566~Three~three]], that was nevertheless retitled [[Feature~V343566~Three...Extremes II~three]] for the English-language market and issued after this one. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:October 28, 2005

Crew

Takashi Miike
Director
Fruit Chan
Director
Park Chan-wook
Director
Peter Ho-Sun Chan
Producer
Fumio Inoue
Producer
Shun Shimizu
Producer
Naoki Sato
Producer
Ahn Soo-Hyun
Producer
Lilian Lee
Screenwriter
Lilian Lee
Book Author
Haruko Fukushima
Screenwriter
Park Chan-wook
Screenwriter
Christopher Doyle
Cinematographer
Chung Chung-Hoon
Cinematographer
Koichi Kawakami
Cinematographer
Koji Endo
Composer (Music Score)
Kim Jae-beom
Editor
Kim Sang-beom
Editor
Tin Sam-Fat
Editor
Yasushi Shimamura
Editor
Chan Ki-hop
Editor
Yee Chung-man
Production Designer
Yoo Seong-Hee
Production Designer
Takashi Sasaki
Production Designer
Pater Wong
Art Director
Patricia Cheng
Associate Producer
Kazuo Kuroi
Executive Producer
Oh Jung-Won
Executive Producer
Lee Eu-Gene
Executive Producer
Eric Tsang
Executive Producer
Park Dong-Ho
Executive Producer
Cho Sang-Kyung
Costume Designer
Dora Ng
Costume Designer
Kim Suk-won
Sound/Sound Designer
Kinson Tsang
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement