Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Trip to Bountiful Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Adapted by [[Performer~P24162~Horton Foote~hortonfoote]] from his own television play, A Trip to Bountiful is set in 1947 Houston. Forced by circumstances to live her loathsome son ([[Performer~P31399~John Heard~johnheard]]) and daughter-in-law ([[Performer~P27298~Carlin Glynn~carlinglynn]]), elderly [[Performer~P54660~Geraldine Page~geraldinepage]] wants nothing more out of life than to return to her home town of Bountiful. Escaping from her family's clutches, Page boards a bus to Bountiful, where she makes the acquaintance of young [[Performer~P17592~Rebecca DeMornay~rebeccademornay]]. The two women immediately hit it off, and their trip is a most pleasant one. Eventually, sheriff [[Performer~P7924~Richard Bradford~richardbradford]], ordered to find Page and bring her back to her family, catches up with the old woman just 12 miles from Bountiful. Feeling sorry for Page, Bradford permits her to complete her sentimental journey, even though he knows full well that Bountiful is now a ghost town of empty ruins and dilapidated shacks. It doesn't matter, though: Page sees Bountiful just as it was when she left it, and for the first time in years she is truly happy and at peace with herself. After several near-misses, Geraldine Page finally won an Academy Award for A Trip to Bountiful (incidentally, the original TV production, which still exists in kinescope form, starred [[Performer~P27129~Lillian Gish~lilliangish]] and [[Performer~P62641~Eva Marie Saint~evamariesaint]]). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 24, 1986

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Horton Foote Best Screenplay 1985 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Horton Foote Best Adapted Screenplay 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Geraldine Page Best Actress 1985 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Geraldine Page Best Actress 1985 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Peter Masterson Best Director 1985 Nominee

Cast

Geraldine Page
as Mrs. Watts
John Heard
as Ludie Watts
Carlin Glynn
as Jessie Mae
Richard Bradford
as Sheriff
Rebecca De Mornay
as Thelma
Kevin Cooney
as Roy
Peter Masterson
as Newspaper Boy
Frances Peterson
as Young Carrie Watts
Ed Johnston
as Man on Bus
John Torn
as Twin
Alexandra Masterson
as Drugstore Waitress
Andrew Van Wagenen
as Family on the bus
Don Wyse
as Doctor
Harvey Lewis
as Bus Ticket Man
Norman Bennett
as Bus Ticket Man
Gil Glasgow
as Stationmaster Gerard
Allison Marich
as Blonde on Bus
Kirk Sisco
as Train Ticket Agent
Wezz Tildon
as Bus Passenger
David Romo
as Mexican Man
Tony Torn
as Twin
Dave Tanner
as Billy Davis

Crew

Peter Masterson
Director
Sam Grogg
Producer
Dennis Bishop
Producer
Sterling Van Wagenen
Producer
Horton Foote
Play Author
Horton Foote
Screenwriter
Fred Murphy
Cinematographer
Jay Freund
Editor
Neil Spisak
Production Designer
Philip Lamb
Art Director
Horton Foote
Executive Producer
Derek R. Hill
Set Designer
Gary Jones
Costume Designer
Jimi White
Makeup
Advertisement