Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Stepford Wives Details


Ira Levin's best-selling novel about a town where great wives aren't born but made gets a second screen adaptation in this darkly satirical comedy drama. Joanna Eberhart (Nicole Kidman) is a successful television executive until one day her career hits the glass ceiling and crashes to the ground. Looking to take some time off to start over, Joanna and her husband, Walter Kresby (Matthew Broderick), pull up stakes and move to the peaceful suburban community of Stepford. Walter takes to his new environment with real enthusiasm and joins the local men's organization, headed by one Mike Wellington. Joanna, on the other hand, finds that Stepford is just a bit too quiet and well-groomed for her taste, and is taken aback by the aggressively cheerful and servile attitude of Mike's wife, Claire (Glenn Close), and the other women of the community. A notable exception is Bobbi Markowitz (Bette Midler), a happily misanthropic writer who revels in her lack of enthusiasm for housework or exercise. Joanna and Bobbi become fast friends, but as they look closer at the all-too-perfect surfaces of Stepford and its female inhabitants, they slowly discover a terrible secret lurking beneath. Also featuring Faith Hill, Jon Lovitz, and Roger Bart, Roger Bart was previously adapted for the screen in 1975, with Katherine Ross in the lead; that version spawned three made-for-TV sequels. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 11, 2004


Nicole Kidman
as Joanna Eberhart
Matthew Broderick
as Walter Kresby
Bette Midler
as Bobbi Markowitz
Glenn Close
as Claire Wellington
Christopher Walken
as Mike Wellington
Roger Bart
as Roger Bannister
David Marshall Grant
as Jerry Harmon
Jon Lovitz
as David Markowitz
Lorri Bagley
as Charmaine Van Sant
Mike White
Christopher Evan Welch
as Ed Wainwright
Robert Stanton
as Ted Van Sant
Colleen Dunn
as Marianne Stevens
Matt Malloy
as Herb Sunderson
Kate Shindle
as Beth Peters
Tom Riis Farrell
as Stan Peters
Jason Kravitz


Frank Oz
Scott Rudin
Donald De Line
Gabriel Grunfeld
Edgar J. Scherick
Paul Rudnick
Ira Levin
Book Author
Rob Hahn
Randall Poster
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
Jay Rabinowitz
Jackson de Govia
Production Designer
Peter Rogness
Art Director
Leslie Converse
Ron Bozman
Executive Producer
Keri Selig
Executive Producer
Debra Schutt
Set Designer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Danny Michael
Sound/Sound Designer
Ron Bochar
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Cotone
First Assistant Director
Juliet Taylor
Laura Rosenthal
Laura Civiello
Sound Editor
Scott Souter
Visual Effects Supervisor
Frank Petzold
Visual Effects Supervisor
Ron Bochar
Supervising Sound Editor
Julia Shirar
Sound Editor
Nicholas Renbeck
Sound Editor
Jason Heapy
Visual Effects Producer