Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The St. Valentine's Day Massacre Details


Schlockmeister Roger Corman produced this graphically violent chronicle of the Chicago gangster wars of the 1920s and the events that lead to the bloody title showdown between rival mobsters Al Capone (Jason Robards) and Bugs Moran (Ralph Meeker) that marked a brutal end to a terrifying era. Fred Steiner's film score is effectively mixed with popular songs from the 1920s, and the re-creation of gangster-era Chicago is a credit to the set designers. Historic and insightful narration is dramatically provided by Paul Frees, giving the film the flavor of a docudrama. Jean Hale plays Moran's gun moll, who is mercilessly kneed in the stomach while arguing over a fur coat. Though The St. Valentine's Day Massacre was heralded by critics at the time of its initial release, their opinion of the film has changed with each decade as they waver on the cinematic value of all of Corman's work. Audiences continue to relish the film, which is often shown on the anniversary of the bloody executions. Watch for Jack Nicholson as one of the unfortunate victims. ~ Dan Pavlides, Rovi


Jason Robards, Jr.
as Al "Scarface" Capone
George Segal
as Peter Gusenberg
Ralph Meeker
as George "Bugs" Moran
Jean Hale
as Myrtle Nelson
Frank Silvera
as Nicholas Sorello
Richard Bakalyan
as Senlisi
Bruce Dern
as John May
Harold J. Stone
as Frank "The Enforcer" Nitti
Kurt Kreuger
as James Clark
Paul H. Frees
as Narrator
Joe Turkel
as Gusik
Milton Frome
as Adam Heyer
Mickey Deems
as Reinhart Schwimmer
John Agar
as Dion O'Bannion
Celia Lovsky
as Josephine Schwimmer
Tom Reese
as Ted Newberry
Jan Merlin
as Willie Marks
Reed Hadley
as Earl "Hymie" Weiss
Gus Trikonis
as Rio
Charles Dierkop
as Salvanti
Tom Signorelli
as Bobo Borotto
Alex Rocco
as Diamond
Leo Gordon
as Heitler
Ron Gans
as Chapman
Barboura Morris
as Jeanette Landsman
Joseph Campanella
as Al Wienshank
Jack Nicholson
as Gino
Rico Cattani
as Albert Anselmi
Dale Van Sickel
Dan Ades
as Little Jerry Molina
Richard Krisher
as Desk Clerk
Joan Shawlee
as Edna
Dick Miller
Alex D'Arcy
as Joey Aiello


Roger Corman
Roger Corman
Howard Browne
Milton Krasner
Fred Steiner
Composer (Music Score)
Lionel Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Lionel Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
David Dockendorf
Sound/Sound Designer
Art Cruickshank
Special Effects