Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Sleeping Dictionary Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P341137~Guy Jenkin~guyjenkin]] directs this straight-to-video romantic drama shot on-location in Malaysia. In the rainforests of Boreno in the 1930s, English officer John Truscott ([[Performer~P301922~Hugh Dancy~hughdancy]]) accepts a position to colonize the native population of Sarawak at the request of the British government. In following with the native tradition, he is given the services of a servant, Selima ([[Performer~P268078~Jessica Alba~jessicaalba]]). A position that British officers refer to as a "sleeping dictionary," she is a concubine to share his bed and teach him the local language. The tradition forbids romantic entanglements, so the relationship is watched over by superior officer Henry Bullard ([[Performer~P33185~Bob Hoskins~bobhoskins]]) and his wife, Aggie ([[Performer~P6748~Brenda Blethyn~brendablethyn]]). When Selima and John fall madly in love, they enrage both the colonizers and the colonized. Also starring [[Performer~P215854~Emily Mortimer~emilymortimer]] and [[Performer~P70078~Noah Taylor~noahtaylor]]. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 2003
Advertisement