Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Singing Detective Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

From director [[Performer~P92106~Keith Gordon~keithgordon]] ([[Feature~V154517~Mother Night~mothernight]], [[Feature~V32556~A Midnight Clear~amidnightclear]]) comes this American feature adaptation of the 1986 BBC miniseries, The Singing Detective. [[Performer~P19966~Robert Downey Jr.~robertdowneyjr]] returns to the big-screen for the first time since 2000's [[Feature~V182470~Wonder Boys~wonderboys]] as Dan Dark, a novelist who is hospitalized with a severe case of psoriasis. As he lays in bed, Dark hallucinates that he is actually a World War II-era private dick embroiled in an oddball web of mystery, intrigue, and musical numbers. Written by the late [[Performer~P106930~Dennis Potter~dennispotter]] ([[Feature~V37640~Pennies From Heaven~penniesfromheaven]], [[Feature~V20395~Gorky Park~gorkypark]]) and co-starring [[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]], [[Performer~P77633~Robin Wright Penn~robinwrightpenn]], [[Performer~P225994~Katie Holmes~katieholmes]], and [[Performer~P8639~Adrien Brody~adrienbrody]], The Singing Detective premiered at the 2003 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

  • Release date:October 24, 2003

Cast

Robert Downey, Jr.
as Dan Dark
Robin Wright Penn
as Nicola
Robin Wright Penn
as Nina
Robin Wright Penn
as Blonde
Mel Gibson
as Dr. Gibbon
Jeremy Northam
as Mark Binney
Katie Holmes
as Nurse Mills
Adrien Brody
as First Hood
Jon Polito
as Second Hood
Carla Gugino
as Betty Dark
Saul Rubinek
as Skin Specialist
Alfre Woodard
as Chief of Staff
Amy Aquino
David Dorfman
Eddie Jones
Lily Knight
Clyde Kusatsu
Earl C. Poitier
Don Fischer
Andy Umberger
David Denman
Carla Gugino
as Hooker

Crew

Keith Gordon
Director
Mel Gibson
Producer
Steven Haft
Producer
Bruce Davey
Producer
Dennis Potter
Screenwriter
Tom Richmond
Cinematographer
Ken Weiss
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jeff Wishengrad
Editor
Jane Potter
Co-producer
Sarah Potter
Co-producer
Robert Potter
Co-producer
Kevin Lake
Associate Producer
Stan Wlodkowski
Executive Producer
James LeBrecht
Sound/Sound Designer
John Nutt
Sound/Sound Designer
Eric Heffron
First Assistant Director
Bill Landrum
Choreography
Marc Jacquier
Choreography
Denise Chamian
Casting
Advertisement