Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Sandpiper Details


[[Performer~P70015~Elizabeth Taylor~elizabethtaylor]] and [[Performer~P83664~Richard Burton~richardburton]] -- then Hollywood's most bankable couple -- appeared onscreen together for the third time in this romantic drama shot on beautiful locations along the Big Sur region of the California coastline. Laura Edwards ([[Performer~P70015~Elizabeth Taylor~elizabethtaylor]]) is a free-thinking artist and Bohemian who is raising a her teenage son, Danny ([[Performer~P101614~Morgan Mason~morganmason]]), conceived out of wedlock, on her own. Laura has issues with conventional teaching methods, and prefers to educate Danny about both intellectual and ethical matters on her own. However, Danny has become something of a problem, and child welfare authorities demand that Danny either be sent to school or become a ward of the state. Rather than send Danny to public school, Laura arranges for him to attend a private academy run by Dr. Edward Hewitt ([[Performer~P83664~Richard Burton~richardburton]]), an Episcopalian minister. Edward is at first shocked by Laura's embrace of free love and rejection of conventional moral codes, but as he gets to know her better, he finds himself increasingly attracted to her, despite the fact he has a wife, Claire ([[Performer~P62641~Eva Marie Saint~evamariesaint]]), and two children. Before long, Edward's desire overpowers his scruples and he begins an affair with Laura. Wracked with guilt over his infidelity, Edward confesses his indiscretion to Claire, which proves to have severe and unexpected consequences. While saddled with poor reviews upon its initial release, The Sandpiper did win an Academy Award for [[Performer~P100990~Johnny Mandel~johnnymandel]]'s theme song, "The Shadow of Your Smile." ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 23, 1965


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Francis Webster Best Song 1965 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Paul Francis Webster Best Original Song 1965 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Johnny Mandel Best Song 1965 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Johnny Mandel Best Original Song 1965 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Johnny Mandel Best Original Score 1965 Nominee


Elizabeth Taylor
as Laura Reynolds
Richard Burton
as Dr. Edward Hewitt
Eva Marie Saint
as Claire Hewitt
Charles Bronson
as Cos Erickson
Robert Webber
as Ward Hendricks
Torin Thatcher
as Judge Thompson
James Edwards
as Larry Brant
Morgan Mason
as Danny Reynolds
Colin Drake
as Administrator
Diane Sayer
Douglas Henderson
as Paul Sutcliff
Eric Sinclair
as Beatnik
John Hart
as Trooper
Peter O'Toole
Barbara Somers
as Dancer at the Party
Ron Whelan
Shirley Bonne
as Celebrant
Jan Arvan
as 1st Trustee
Joan Connors
Kelton Garwood
Mary Benoit
as Trustee's Wife
April Hyde
as Administrator's Wife
Olga Valery
as Administrator's Wife
Paul Genge
as Architect
Rex Holman


Vincente Minnelli
Martin Ransohoff
Michael Wilson
Irene Kamp
Louis Kamp
Dalton Trumbo
Milton Krasner
Paul Francis Webster
Johnny Mandel
Composer (Music Score)
Johnny Mandel
David Bretherton
George W. Davis
Art Director
Urie McCleary
Art Director
Ben Kadish
Executive Producer
Keogh Gleason
Set Designer
Henry W. Grace
Set Designer
Irene Sharaff
Costume Designer
William McGarry
First Assistant Director
William J. Tuttle