Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Saint in New York Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Saint, [[Performer~P180226~Leslie Charteris~lesliecharteris]]' charming but deadly criminal-turned-sleuth, made his first film appearance in RKO Radio's [[Feature~V35072~The Saint of New York~newyorknewyork]]. Faithful to [[Performer~P180226~Charteris~lesliecharteris]]' original concept, this first movie Saint is a cold-blooded murderer, redeemed by the fact that all of his victims are notorious gangsters who'd otherwise elude the clutches of the law. Hired by a coterie of businessmen, Simon Templar ([[Performer~P31328~Louis Hayward~louishayward]]), aka the Saint, methodically rids New York of its worst criminals, though "The Big Fellow", aka Hutch Rellin ([[Performer~P62113~Sig Rumann~sigrumann]]), continues to elude him. He is aided by Rellin's enigmatic mistress Fay Edwards ([[Performer~P69227~Kay Sutton~kaysutton]]), who pays for her actions with her life. The film's most memorable moment finds Templar disguising himself as a nun to dispose of a particularly nasty villain. The success of [[Feature~V35072~The Saint of New York~newyorknewyork]] prompted RKO to negotiate with [[Performer~P180226~Charteris~lesliecharteris]] for a series of "Saint" films, with [[Performer~P62948~George Sanders~georgesanders]] and [[Performer~P65910~Hugh Sinclair~hughsinclair]] taking over from [[Performer~P31328~Louis Hayward~louishayward]] as the title character. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Louis Hayward
as Simon Templar
Kay Sutton
as Fay Edwards
Sig Rumann
as Butch Bellin
Jonathan Hale
as Inspector Henry Fernack
Jack Carson
as Red Jenks
Paul Guilfoyle
as Hymie Fanro
Frederick Burton
as William Valcross
Ben Welden
as Papinoff
Frank M. Thomas
as Prosecutor
Anthony Warde
as Maury Yule
George Irving
as Judge
Richard Lane
as Dispatcher
Lee Phelps
as Cassidy, Detective
Charles Halton
as Vincent Nather
Paul Fix
as Phil, Hoodlum
Jay Adler
as Maury's Hood

Crew

Ben Holmes
Director
William Sistrom
Producer
Leslie Charteris
Book Author
Mortimer Offner
Screenwriter
Joseph H. August
Cinematographer
Frank Redman
Cinematographer
Harry Marker
Editor
Van Nest Polglase
Art Director
Edward Stevenson
Costume Designer
Advertisement