Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Rules of Attraction Details


Bret Easton Ellis' controversial novel about the sexual, emotional, and chemical interactions of a group of wealthy and amoral college students is brought to the screen in this adaptation from writer and director Roger Avery. Sean Bateman (James Van Der Beek) is a student at Camden College, a well-respected private school on the East Coast. Sean is attracted to Lauren Hynde (Shannyn Sossamon), a high minded and seemingly unapproachable coed, while Lauren is infatuated with Victor (Kip Pardue), a handsome but self-centered ladies' man. Lauren's empty-headed roommate, Lara (Jessica Biel), is also attracted to Victor, while he has no qualms about being involved with both. Lauren used to date affected snob Paul Denton (Ian Somerhalder), but Paul, a bisexual, currently lusts after Sean. Meanwhile, friendly campus drug dealer Rupert (Clifton Collins Jr.) finds a ready market for cocaine among his classmates; Sean, a steady customer, finds himself financially embarrassed and begins dealing drugs to help pay off his debts, while leading Paul on for his ready supply of marijuana. The Rules of Attraction also features Eric Stoltz as Mr. Lance Lawson, Faye Dunaway and Swoosie Kurtz as semi-concerned parents, and Fred Savage as one of Sean's customers. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 11, 2002


James Van Der Beek
as Sean Bateman
Ian Somerhalder
as Paul Denton
Shannyn Sossamon
as Lauren Hynde
Jessica Biel
as Lara
Kip Pardue
as Victor
Thomas Ian Nicholas
as Mitchell
Kate Bosworth
as Kelly
Fred Savage
as Marc
Eric Stoltz
as Mr. Lance Lawson
Clifton Collins, Jr.
as Rupert
Faye Dunaway
as Mrs. Owen
Swoosie Kurtz
as Mrs. Jared
Hayley Keenan
as Claudia
Joel Michaely
as Raymond
Malcolm Galt
as Hacky Sack Guy
Michael Ralph
as Guest
Clare Kramer
Skyler Stone
as Quinlivan
Russell Sams
as Richard
Lucille M. Oliver
as Young Nurse
Paul Williams
as Duty Doctor
Amber Smith
as Undressed to Get Screwed
Ron Jeremy
Kavan Reece
as Handsome Dunce
Jay Baruchel
Noelle Evans
as Crack Whore
Cheyenne Wilbur
as Maitre D'
Colin Bain
as Donald
Anderson Goncalves
as Bertrand


Roger Avary
Greg Shapiro
Bret Easton Ellis
Book Author
Roger Avary
Roger Avary
Robert Brinkmann
Composer (Music Score)
Joel C. High
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sharon Marie Rutter
Sharon Seymour
Production Designer
Christopher Tandon
Art Director
Samuel Hadida
Executive Producer
Marc Butan
Executive Producer
Roger Avary
Executive Producer
Jeremiah Samuels
Executive Producer
Tom Ortenberg
Executive Producer
Marsha Oglesby
Executive Producer
Michael Paseornek
Executive Producer
Christina Wilson
Set Designer
Louise Frogley
Costume Designer
Teresa Visinare
Set Decorator
Michael Kamper
Sound/Sound Designer
Roger Avary
Sound/Sound Designer
Leonel Zapien
Special Effects
Mario Vanillo
Special Effects
Garth Majors
Special Effects
William Paul Clark
First Assistant Director
Mollie Stallman
First Assistant Director
Tom Hajdu
Simon Jayes
Camera Operator
Tim Boland
Sound Mixer
Rick Montgomery
Andrew Scheps
Sound Mixer
Felipe Borrero
Sound Mixer
Nerses Gezalyan
Foley Mixer
Bob Deschaine
ADR Mixer
Roger Avary
Leandro Maciel
Musical Performer
Harry Ralston
Second Unit Director
Carl Pedregal
Post Production Supervisor
Tami Treadwell
ADR Recordist
Ann Hadsell
ADR Mixer
Unsun Song
Re-Recording Mixer
David Thornsberry
Location Manager
Brian Basham
ADR Recordist
Gregory Nicotero
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Matthew Hirsch
Production Coordinator
Carol Strong
Key Make-up
Harris Done
Second Unit Camera
Lance Brown
Re-Recording Mixer
Eddie Ma
Musical Performer
Caitlin McKenna
ADR Loop Group
Claudia Carle
ADR Recordist
Greg Zimmerman
Foley Recordist
Ron Bolanowski
Special Effects Coordinator
Trish Almeida
Key Hairstylist
Tim Serda
Re-Recording Mixer
Ron Bedrosian
ADR Mixer
Patrick Cabral
Foley Editor
Brian Bulman
Music Editor
Hector Gika
Dialogue Editor
Hector Gika
ADR Editor
Frank Moshier
Post Production Coordinator