Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Road Warrior Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P206572~George Miller~georgemiller]]'s follow-up to his own 1979 hit [[Feature~V30657~Mad Max~madmax]] is proof that not all sequels are inferior to their originals. If anything, this brutal sci-fi action film is even more intense and exciting than its predecessor, although the state of its post-apocalyptic world has only become worse. Several years after the deaths of his wife and child, Max ([[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]]) has become an alienated nomad, wandering an Australian outback that has fallen into tribal warfare conducted from scattered armed camps. After a road battle with psychotic villain Wez ([[Performer~P75485~Vernon Wells~vernonwells]]), Max meets up with the odd Gyro Captain ([[Performer~P67166~Bruce Spence~brucespence]]), who takes him to the camp of a sympathetic group led by Pappagallo ([[Performer~P220611~Mike Preston~michaelpreston]]). As Pappagallo's people are camped at a refinery, Max plans to take their oil -- more precious than gold in this world -- but eventually joins them to fight a band of marauders led by the evil Humungus ([[Performer~P52738~Kjell Nilsson~kjellnilsson]]). The stunning climax features a heart-pounding chase scene involving an oil tanker-truck and a frenzied rush for the coast, with Humungus and his forces in hot pursuit. [[Performer~P52738~Nilsson~kjellnilsson]] is a scary villain, with huge muscles and a sinister pre-Jason hockey mask, but the stunt work is the key here, and it is more flamboyantly dynamic than ever, edited at breakneck pace and staged with manic fury by [[Performer~P206572~Miller~georgemiller]] and stunt coordinator [[Performer~P80101~Max Aspin~maxaspin]]. Savage and kinetic, Mad Max 2 is a must-see for action buffs. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

Cast

Mel Gibson
as Mad Max
Virginia Hey
as Warrior Woman
Syd Heylen
as Curmudgeon
Emil Minty
as Feral Kid
Kjell Nilsson
as Humungus
Max Phipps
as Toadie
Vernon Wells
as Wez
David Slingsby
as Quiet Man
Bruce Spence
as Gyro Captain
David Downer
as Nathan
Guy Norris
as Mohawk Biker with Bearclaw
Michael Preston
as Pappagallo
William Zappa
as Zetta
Harold Baigent
as Narrator
Max Fairchild
as Broken Victim
Tyler Coppin
as Defiant Victim
Arkie Whiteley
as Lusty Girl

Crew

George Miller
Director
Byron Kennedy
Producer
George Miller
Screenwriter
Brian Hannant
Screenwriter
Terry Hayes
Screenwriter
Dean Semler
Cinematographer
Brian May
Composer (Music Score)
Tim Wellburn
Editor
Michael Balson
Editor
David Stiven
Editor
Graham "Grace" Walker
Production Designer
Norma Moriceau
Costume Designer
Kim Priest
Special Effects
Patrick Clayton
First Assistant Director
Brian Hannant
First Assistant Director
Steve Knapman
Supervisor/Manager
Max Aspin
Stunts
Patrick Clayton
Production Manager
Bob McCarron
Makeup
Advertisement