Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

There's Always Tomorrow Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

There's Always Tomorrow is a remake of a 1934 film of the same name. [[Performer~P44291~Fred MacMurray~fredmacmurray]] is a toy company executive whose wife ([[Performer~P5398~Joan Bennett~joanbennett]]) and kids ([[Performer~P56107~Gigi Perreau~gigiperreau]], [[Performer~P108089~William Reynolds~williamreynolds]] and [[Performer~P53183~Judy Nugent~judynugent]]) take him for granted. [[Performer~P67643~Barbara Stanwyck~barbarastanwyck]] is Fred's former girlfriend, whose own business activities result in a surprise reunion. MacMurray falls back in love with Stanwyck and prepares to leave his family. MacMurray's children go to Stanwyck and politely ask her to back off. She does so, and MacMurray's wife Bennett, who's been out of town during all this, is none the wiser. In the original There's Always Tomorrow, the male and female leads ([[Performer~P50579~Frank Morgan~frankmorgan]] and [[Performer~P3995~Binnie Barnes~binniebarnes]]) were farther apart age-wise, making their brief encounter all the more poignant. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 20, 1956

Cast

Barbara Stanwyck
as Norma Miller Vale
Fred MacMurray
as Clifford Groves
Joan Bennett
as Marion Groves
William Reynolds
as Vinnie Groves
Jane Darwell
as Mrs. Rogers
Race Gentry
as Bob
Myrna Hansen
as Ruth
Judy Nugent
as Frankie Groves
Paul L. Smith
as Bellboy
Helen Kleeb
as Miss Walker
Jane Howard
as Flower Girl
Frances Mercer
as Ruth Doran
Dorothy Bruce
as Sales Manager
Fred Nurney
as Tourist
Pat Crowley
as Ann
Gigi Perreau
as Ellen Groves
Jack Lomas
as Pianist
Bert Holland
as Clerk
James Rawley
as Foreman
Sheila Bromley
as Woman from Pasadena
Ross Hunter
as Extra
Hal Smith
as Bartender
Lorelei Vitek
as Bit
Louise Lorimer
as Chic Lady with Dog
Jean Byron
as Saleswoman
Vonne Lester
as Junior Executive
Carlyle Mitchell
as Mr. Carl

Crew

Douglas Sirk
Director
Ross Hunter
Producer
Russell Metty
Cinematographer
Joseph E. Gershenson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Heinz Roemheld
Composer (Music Score)
Herman Stein
Composer (Music Score)
Alexander Golitzen
Art Director
Julia Heron
Set Designer
Ursula Parrott
Short Story Author
Advertisement