Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Racket Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Feature~V171692~The Racket~reket]] was based on a play by [[Performer~P15038~Bartlett Cormack~bartlettcormack]], first filmed as a silent in 1928. The storyline was updated to include references to Estes Kefauver's Senate Crime Investigating Committee: otherwise, the plot (and much of the dialogue) was lifted bodily from the [[Performer~P15038~Cormack~bartlettcormack]] play. Racketeer [[Performer~P223865~Robert Ryan~robertryan]] has managed to get several government and law-enforcement higher-ups in his pocket. But Ryan can't touch the incorruptible police officer [[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]], who refuses all attempts at bribery. Ryan pulls strings to get [[Performer~P49738~Mitchum~robertmitchum]] transferred to a series of undesirable precincts, but [[Performer~P49738~Mitchum~robertmitchum]] will not be dissuaded. The battle of wills between cop and criminal comes to a head when mob-connected nightclub singer [[Performer~P64111~Lizabeth Scott~lizabethscott]] turns on her former protector Ryan. The Broadway version of [[Feature~V171692~The Racket~reket]] starred [[Performer~P60775~Edward G. Robinson~edwardgrobinson]] as the racketeer; the 1928 film version featured [[Performer~P77200~Louis Wolheim~louiswolheim]] in the [[Performer~P60775~Robinson~edwardgrobinson]] role and [[Performer~P48238~Thomas Meighan~thomasmeighan]] as the upright cop. Both the silent and sound versions of the property were personally produced by [[Performer~P95114~Howard R. Hughes~howardrhughes]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Robert Mitchum
as Capt. Thomas McQuigg
Lizabeth Scott
as Irene Hayes
Robert Ryan
as Nick Scanlon
William Talman
as Johnson
Ray Collins
as Welch
Joyce MacKenzie
as Mary McQuigg
Robert Hutton
as Ames
Virginia Huston
as Lucy Johnson
William Conrad
as Turck
Walter Sande
as Delaney
Les Tremayne
as Harry Craig
Tito Vuolo
as Tony
Robert Bice
Barry Brooks
as Cameron
Richard Karlan
as Enright
Art Dupuis
as Policeman
George Sherwood
as Douglas
Pat Flaherty
as Clerk
Jane Easton
as Operator
Eddie Parker
as Thug
Don Beddoe
as Mitchell
Hazel Keener
as Secretary
Allen Mathews
as Man
Bud Wolfe
as Detective
Ralph Peters
as Davis
Mike Lally
as Sergeant
Don Porter
as Connolly
Dulce Daye
Matthew Boulton
as Simpson
Herb Vigran
as Headwaiter
Miles Shepard
Sally Yarnell
as Operator
Donald Dillaway
as Harris
Ralph Montgomery
as Man
Eric Alden
as Sergeant
Jack Shea
as Sergeant
Milburn Stone
as Foster
Max Wagner
as Durko
Howard Joslin
as Sgt. Werker
Joey Ray
as Reporter
Jack Gargan
as Lewis
Harry Lauter
as Police Officer Mosley
Bret Hamilton
Al Murphy
as Newsboy
Harriet Matthews
as Librarian
Duke Taylor
as Policeman
Iris Adrian
as Sadie

Crew

John Cromwell
Director
Nicholas Ray
Director
Edmund Grainger
Producer
Bartlett Cormack
Play Author
Roy Webb
Composer (Music Score)
Jimmy McHugh
Songwriter
Paul Sawtell
Composer (Music Score)
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Composer (Music Score)
Harold Adamson
Songwriter
Sherman Todd
Editor
Jack Okey
Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Michael Woulfe
Costume Designer
Mel Burns
Costume Designer
Clem Portman
Sound/Sound Designer
Frank McWhorter
Sound/Sound Designer
Mel Burns
Makeup
Advertisement