Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Princess Diaries Details


This teen comedy from Disney is based on a popular novel by Meg Cabot and directed by Garry Marshall. Mia Thermopolis (Anne Hathaway) is a teenage klutz who's openly mocked by the popular Lana Thomas (pop singer Mandy Moore). In fact, Mia's only friend at her exclusive prep school is the socially outcast Lilly (Heather Matarazzo). Mia's life takes a dramatic turn, however, when her mom announces that her late biological father was in actuality the crown prince of a small European nation, Genovia. Now Mia is the sole heir to the throne, and her grandmother, Queen Clarisse Renaldi (Julie Andrews) wants to tutor the awkward teen in royal behavior. It's a daunting task given Mia's lax table manners, poise, and hair care, but the girl perseveres with some makeover help from her grandmother's security chief Hector Elizondo) and a style expert (Larry Miller). In the meantime, Mia's romantic affections are torn between the handsome, popular Josh (Erik Von Detten) and the more appropriate Michael (Robert Schwartzman), who also happens to be Lilly's brother. The Princess Diaries is the second film from Whitney Houston's production shingle after the television version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella (1997). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:July 29, 2001


Anne Hathaway
as Mia Thermopolis
Julie Andrews
as Queen Clarisse Renaldi
Hector Elizondo
as Joseph
Heather Matarazzo
as Lilly Moscovitz
Mandy Moore
as Lana Thomas
Caroline Goodall
as Mia's Mom, Helen
Robert Schwartzman
as Michael Moscovitz
Erik Von Detten
as Student Josh Bryant
Sean O'Bryan
as Teacher Mr. O'Connell
Sandra Oh
as Vice Principal Gupta
Kathleen Marshall
as Charlotte Kutaway
Patrick Flueger
as Student Jeremiah Hart
Sandra Taylor
as Sanchez, Suki
Bonnie Aarons
as Joy Von Troken, Baroness
Patrick Richwood
as Neighbor Mr. Robutusen
Shannon Wilcox
as Ball Reporter
Nicholle Tom
as Teen Reporter Cassie
Barbara Marshall
as Lady Jerome
Daru Kawalkowski
as Countess Puck
Brigitta Lauren
as Lady Lindenlaub
Erika Young
as Umbrella Lady
Charlotte Marshall-Fricker
as Kid Autograph Seeker
Flora Chong
as Street Reporter
Jeff Michalski
as Scottish Duke
Reuben Grundy
as Street Reporter
Diane Frazen
as Ball Guest Diane
Lori Sigrist
as Twin Reporter
Gwen Holloway
as Street Reporter
Sunny Hawks
as Climbing Instructor Vivian
Charles Guardino
as Limo Driver Mel
Johnny Moran
as Beach Photographer
Tracy Reiner
as Press Secretary Spencer
Mary Knoll
as Trolley Tourist #2
Kim Leigh
as Music Teacher Wells
Erik Bragg
as Student Bobby Bad
Todd Lowe
as Lana's Date Eric
Terry Brown
as Policeman Washington
Shannon Elliot
as Michael's Band Flypaper
Ali Gage
as Beach Reporter Ali
Mark Thompson
as DJ Mark
Meredith Shevory
as Student Meredith
Bud Markowitz
as Pear Juggler
Tamara Levinson
as Cheerleader Lupe
Gary Combs
as Lord Fricker
Stanley Frazen
as Ball Guest Stanley
Sam Denoff
as Lord Jerome
Steve Totland
as Consulate Waiter
Robert Glaudini
as Consulate Valet Adolpho
Bill Ferrell
as Consulate Guard Darrell
John McGivern
as Cable Car Conductor Macintosh
Hope Alexander-Willis
as Lady Caroline
Dale Hikawa
as Band Leader Dawn Kawa
Joe Ross
as Consulate Maitre'D
Abigail Green-Dove
as Student Linda Green
Korry Cannon
as Newspaper Student Korry
Joel McCrary
as Prime Minister Motaz
Reggie Stanton
as Coach Dave Adams
Chrissy Gilman
as Beach Student
Clare Sera
as Mrs. Motaz
Karl Makinen
as Climbing Manager Schiavone
Lily Marshall-Fricker
as Kid Autograph Seeker
Adam Williams
as Dinner Guest Adam
Steve Restivo
as Count Vitello
Bill Fricker
as Autograph Father
Tonje Larsgard
as Ball Reporter
Greg Lewis
as Sigfried Von Troken, Baron
Sparrow Heatley
as Gretchen
Jason Ashland
as Trolley Tourist #1
Kathy Garver
as Cable Tourist
Julie Paris
as Princess Palisades
Niloufar Safaie
as Ball Reporter
Wendy Hallin
as 911 Nun
Juliet Elizondo
as Daughter Marissa Motaz
Terri Sigrist
as Twin Reporter
Brian Phelps
as DJ Brian
Marvin Braveman
as State Dinner Waiter
Darwood Chung
as Emperor Sakamoto
Jane Morris
as Lady Evergreen
Rob Zylowski
as Pizza Delivery Man
Harold Carter
as Michael's Band Flypaper
Tanya Difrancesco
as Beach Reporter Tanya
Ira Glick
as Ball Guest Dr. Glunk
Cassie Rowell
as Singing Student Alice
Joe Unitas
as Coach Joe Ewe
Gwenda Perez
as Helga
Willie Brown
as Himself
Ethan Sandler
as Tour Bus Driver
Barbara Nabozny
as Ball Guest Barbara
Lenore Thomas
as Cable Show Student Melissa
Mindy Burbano
as Gym Teacher Harbula
Michelle Yerger
as 911 Nun


Garry Marshall
Garry Marshall
Whitney Houston
Mario Iscovich
Debra Martin Chase
Meg Cabot
Book Author
Gina Wendkos
Karl Walter Lindenlaub
John Debney
Composer (Music Score)
Sidney James
Musical Direction/Supervision
Bruce Green
Mayne Berke
Production Designer
Caty Maxey
Art Director
Ellen H. Schwartz
Casey Hallenbeck
Set Designer
James Murakami
Set Designer
Betty Krul
Set Designer
Matthew Clayton Hooey
Costume Designer
Gary Jones
Costume Designer
Kendall Errair
Costume Designer
Mary Still
Costume Designer
Cheryl Beasley Blackwell
Costume Designer
Keith A. Wester
Sound/Sound Designer
Ellen H. Schwartz
First Assistant Director
Michael Viglietta
First Assistant Director
Louis Flores
Cesar Velazquez
Dale Mayeda
Ian Fox
Camera Operator
Jeannie Epper
Scott Waugh
Donna Evans
Fred Waugh
Donna Morong
Shawn Murphy
Sound Mixer
Keith A. Wester
Sound Mixer
Gail Goldberg
Marcia Ross
Nicki Johnson
Assistant Production Coordinator
Robb Boyd
Assistant Music Editor
Liza McDonald
Additional Editing
Jeff Pelton
Second Assistant Camera
John Cucci
Foley Artist
Ricardo Delgado
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Stacy Williams
Assistant Location Manager
Carolyn Elias
Hair Styles
Karin Shaw
Assistant Location Manager
Mark Woods
Bruce Ericksen
Costumes Supervisor
Orlando Orona
Key Grip
Christine Altomari
Production Coordinator
Andreas Crawford
Dolly Grip
Carol O'Connell
Hair Styles
Jacqueline Carlson
Casting Associate
Leonard Engelman
Assistant Makeup
Lalida Chirasheve
Production Secretary
Linda Stelling
Set Medic/First Aid
Demetrius Griffin
Production Assistant
Paula Harris
Second Second Assistant Director
Jim Renteria
Casting Assistant
Rose Ordile
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Beau Bonneau Casting
Extra Casting
John Kwiatkowski
Sound Editor
Loren Corl
Key Grip
Gary Combs
Stunts Coordinator
Darin Hollings
Visual Effects Supervisor
Charles Meredith
Shannon Reid Wynne
Post Production Coordinator
Jeff Tomhave
Adam Kopald
Sound Editor
Nanci Chin
Assistant Location Manager
Scott Marshall
Second Unit Director
Martin Blasick
Additional Music
James Ashwill
Foley Mixer
Bryan Palliccia
Production Secretary
Doc Kane
ADR Mixer
Andrea Bottigliero
Additional Editing
Denny Thorlaksen
First Assistant Editor
Blake Perkinson
Production Assistant
Piero Mura
Sound Editor
Valerie Davidson
Sound Editor
Debbie Silverman
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Todd Toon
Supervising Sound Editor
Amy Pfaffinger
Chuck Askerneese
Assistant Properties
Hallie D'Amore
Donna Yick
Assistant Location Manager
Peter Myles
Assistant Music Editor
Larz Anderson
Special Effects Coordinator
Sandy O'Neill
Unit Publicist
Heidi Klein
Additional Casting
Joelle Wilson
Production Assistant
Steve Cowie
Winston Quitasol
Tommy Klines
First Assistant Camera
Janie Graves
Assistant Location Manager
Jeannette Browning
ADR Recordist
Laurie Noll
Location Manager
Sue O'Grady
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Paul Plannette
First Assistant Camera
Jessica Peel
Assistant Costume Designer
Margaret Hilliard
Unit Production Manager
Jean Quay
Set Medic/First Aid
Christie Kwan
Production Assistant
Robin Borman-Wizan
Key Costumer
Mel Metcalfe
Re-Recording Mixer
Daniel Arkin
Visual Effects Editor
David Hadder
Cable Person
Kenny Montante
Assistant Properties
Mychael Bates
Properties Master
Dean A. Zupancic
Re-Recording Mixer
Linda Lew
Foley Recordist
Diane Fazio
Visual Effects Producer
Jordan Corngold
Music Editor
Terry Porter
Re-Recording Mixer
Debora Seaman
Foley Recordist