Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Paper Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P94983~Ron Howard~ronhoward]]'s drama follows a beleaguered reporter during a hectic 24 hours at a New York City tabloid. [[Performer~P37277~Michael Keaton~michaelkeaton]] stars as Henry Hackett, a metro editor for the struggling New York Sun. Hackett is being wooed by the Sentinel, a more upscale paper, but he's addicted to the adrenaline-stimulating, breakneck pace of the Sun's newsroom, much to the consternation of his pregnant wife Martha ([[Performer~P71267~Marisa Tomei~marisatomei]]. Hackett is currently pursuing a story of two minority youths who have been arrested for the murders of two men. He learns that the police think that the killings may be a mob hit. In the court of public opinion, however, the innocent suspects are being judged as guilty, and the police may bow to the pressure. As Hackett and his staff desperately work all the story's angles to find the truth, several other dramas unfold. Top editor Bernie ([[Performer~P88530~Robert Duvall~robertduvall]]) learns that he has prostate cancer, and tough publisher Alicia ([[Performer~P13725~Glenn Close~glennclose]]) wonders if her lack of popularity is due to her cost-cutting, her personality, or the fact that she's a woman. In their only collaboration, screenwriter [[Performer~P97774~David Koepp~davidkoepp]] co-wrote the script with his brother [[Performer~P191221~Stephen Koepp~stephenkoepp]], a senior editor at Time magazine. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:March 18, 1994

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Randy Newman Best Song 1994 Nominee

Cast

Michael Keaton
as Henry Hackett
Robert Duvall
as Bernie White
Glenn Close
as Alicia Clark
Marisa Tomei
as Martha Hackett
Randy Quaid
as McDougal
Jason Robards, Jr.
as Graham Keighley
Jason Alexander
as Marion Sandusky
Spalding Gray
as Paul Bladden
Catherine O'Hara
as Susan
Lynne Thigpen
as Janet
Jack Kehoe
as Phil
Roma Maffia
as Carmen
Clint Howard
as Ray Blaisch
Geoffrey Owens
as Lou
Amelia Campbell
as Robin
William Prince
as Henry's Father
Augusta Dabney
as Henry's Mother
Bruce Altman
as Carl
Jack McGee
as Wilder
Jill Hennessy
as Deanne White
Michael P. Moran
as Chuck
Julie Donatt
as Kathy
Gary Dourdan
as Copy Guy
Joe Pentangelo
as Arresting Officer
Rance Howard
as Alicia's Doctor
Richard Price
as Himself
Jack A. O'Connell
as Press Operator
Donna Hanover
as Herself
Louisa Marie
as Sentinel Receptionist
Stephen Koepp
as German Newsperson
John Bentley
as Paste-Up Person
Jean Speegle Howard
as Hospital Volunteer
Cedric Young
as Martha's Paramedic
Divina Cook
as Sobbing Woman
Joe Viviani
as Max
Siobhan Fallon
as Lisa
Kurt Loder
as Himself
Herb Lovelle
as Victor
Paul Geier
as Doctor Porter
Pete Hamill
as Himself
Bobo Lewis
as Anna
James Ritz
as A.C. Repairman
Michael Countryman
as Emmett
Victor Truro
as Bernie's Doctor
Myra Taylor
as Mother
Sally Jane Heit
as Grace
Harsh Nayyar
as Attendant
Miles Watson
as A.C. Repairman
William Kunstler
as Himself

Crew

Ron Howard
Director
Brian Grazer
Producer
Frederick Zollo
Producer
Stephen Koepp
Screenwriter
David Koepp
Screenwriter
John Seale
Cinematographer
Danny Michael
Musical Direction/Supervision
Randy Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Todd Hallowell
Production Designer
Maher Ahmad
Art Director
David Koepp
Co-producer
Louisa Velis
Associate Producer
Aldric La'Auli Porter
Associate Producer
Dylan Sellers
Executive Producer
Todd Hallowell
Executive Producer
Debra Schutt
Set Decorator
Rita Ryack
Costume Designer
Aldric La'Auli Porter
First Assistant Director
Bruce MacCallum
Camera Operator
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Advertisement