Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Outfit Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A two-bit criminal takes on the Mafia to avenge his brother's death in this drama based on a novel by [[Performer~P116486~Donald E. Westlake~donaldewestlake]]. Earl Macklin ([[Performer~P88530~Robert Duvall~robertduvall]]) is a small time criminal who is released from prison after an unsuccessful bank robbery only to discover that a pair of gunmen killed his brother. As it turns out, the bank that Earl and his brother hit was controlled by gangster Mailer ([[Performer~P223865~Robert Ryan~robertryan]]). Macklin learns that he's on the mob's hit list as well, so he teams up with his old partner Cody ([[Performer~P3412~Joe Don Baker~joedonbaker]]) to take on Mailer and his second in command, Jake Menner ([[Performer~P10897~Timothy Carey~timothycarey]]). The Outfit also features a top-notch supporting cast, including [[Performer~P82001~Karen Black~karenblack]], [[Performer~P53046~Sheree North~shereenorth]], [[Performer~P11656~Joanna Cassidy~joannacassidy]], [[Performer~P34973~Richard Jaeckel~richardjaeckel]], and [[Performer~P53390~Anita O'Day~anitaoday]]; [[Performer~P76885~Marie Windsor~mariewindsor]] and [[Performer~P14692~Elisha Cook, Jr.~elishacookjr]] also appear, 18 years after their memorable turn together in [[Feature~V27318~The Killing~thekilling]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 27, 1974

Cast

Robert Duvall
as Macklin
Karen Black
as Bett Jarrow
Joe Don Baker
as Cody
Robert Ryan
as Mailer
Timothy Carey
as Menner
Richard Jaeckel
as Chemy
Roy Roberts
as Bob Caswell
Roy Jenson
as Al
Elisha Cook, Jr.
as Carl
Sheree North
as Buck's Wife
Bill McKinney
as Buck
Bernd Hoffmann
as Jim Sinclair
Phil Kenneally
as Bartender
Henry Jones
as Doctor
Anita O'Day
as Herself
Paul Genge
as Payoff Man
Jane Greer
as Alma
Tony Young
as Accountant
John Steadman
as Gas Station Attendant
Tony Trabert
as Himself
Marie Windsor
as Madge Coyle
Felice Orlandi
as Frank Orlandi
James Bacon
as Bookie
Tom Reese
as First Man
Joanna Cassidy
as Rita
Eddie Ness
as Ed Macklin

Crew

John Flynn
Director
Carter DeHaven III
Producer
John Flynn
Screenwriter
Donald E. Westlake
Screenwriter
Bruce Surtees
Cinematographer
Steve Gillette
Songwriter
Jerry Fielding
Composer (Music Score)
Ralph Winters
Editor
Tambi Larsen
Art Director
Yvonne Wood
Costume Designer
William McGarry
First Assistant Director
Advertisement