Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Other Boleyn Girl Details


Adapted from author Philippa Gregory's historical novel of the same name, director Justin Chadwick's atmospheric period drama follows the fierce competition between sisters Mary (Scarlett Johansson) and Anne Boleyn (Natalie Portman) to win the affections of Tudor king Henry VIII (Eric Bana). Anne and Mary Boleyn are under pressure from their father and uncle to help maintain the family's rich legacy and ensure their further prosperity by winning the affections of none other than the king of England (Eric Bana). But life in the royal court is far different than it was in the countryside where these two sisters were raised, and before long their bid to earn the love of the king has transformed two once-happy sisters into bitter rivals. At first, it appears that Mary has triumphed in winning the king's favor by becoming his mistress and bearing him an illegitimate child. Despite her early success, however, Mary has underestimated just how clever and cunning her sibling can truly be. Not only does the relentless Anne manage to edge aside her sister in the eyes of King Henry, but she also succeeds in averting his gaze from his wife, Queen Catherine of Aragon, as well. Mary is driven by genuine affection for King Henry, while her sister Anne has only kept up the charade in a desperate bid to become the queen of England. Now, the growing chasm between two sisters is mirrored on a larger scale as England becomes divided more than ever before. As the consequences of their actions threaten to alter the course of an entire nation, these two sisters will ultimately discover that the only place they will find true strength and loyalty is in family, and that no matter what the consequences they will forever be bound by blood. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:February 29, 2008


Natalie Portman
as Anne Boleyn
Scarlett Johansson
as Mary Boleyn
Eric Bana
as Henry Tudor
Jim Sturgess
as George Boleyn
Mark Rylance
as Sir Thomas Boleyn
Kristin Scott Thomas
as Lady Elizabeth Boleyn
David Morrissey
as The Duke of Norfolk
Benedict Cumberbatch
as William Carey
Ana Torrent
as Katherine of Aragon
Eddie Redmayne
as William Stafford
Thom Cox
as Rider
Michael Smiley
as Physician
Montserrat Roig De Puig
as Lady in Waiting
Juno Temple
as Jane Parker
Iain Mitchell
as Thomas Cromwell
Andrew Garfield
as Francis Weston
Mark Lewis Jones
as Brandon
Alfie Allen
as King's Messenger
Joseph Moore
as Young Henry
Bill Wallis
as Archbishop Cranmer
Joanna Scanlan
as Midwife
Brodie Judge
as Young Catherine
Oscar Negus
as Little Henry
Maisie Smith
as Young Elizabeth
Daisy Doidge-Hill
as Young Anne
Kizzy Fassett
as Young Mary
Finton Reilly
as Young George
Emma Noakes
as Maid
Poppy Hurst
as Little Catherine
Constance Stride
as Mary Tudor


Justin Chadwick
Alison Owen
Peter Morgan
Philippa Gregory
Book Author
Kieran McGuigan
Paul Cantelon
Composer (Music Score)
Paul Knight
Carol Littleton
John Paul Kelly
Production Designer
Kevin Phipps
Art Director
Emma Macdevitt
Art Director
David Allday
Supervising Art Director
Matt Gray
Art Director
Mark Cooper
Faye Ward
Associate Producer
David M. Thompson
Executive Producer
Scott Rudin
Executive Producer
Sandy Powell
Costume Designer
Deborah Saban
First Assistant Director
Ollie Rankin
Paul Donachie
Camera Operator
Tony Lucken
Derek Lea
John Midgley
Sound Mixer
Karen Lindsay-Stewart
Daniel Nightingale
Video Assist
Polly Fletcher
First Assistant Accountant
Deborah L. Scott
Assistant Costume Designer
Chrissie Whitney
Hair Styles
Chrissie Whitney
Andy Brunskill
Producer's Assistant
Stuart Brisdon
Special Effects Supervisor
Nikita Rae
Samar Pollitt
Second Second Assistant Director
Rachel Neale
Unit Production Manager
Joseph Geday
Special Effects Technician
Russell Diamond
Dolly Grip
Elton Farla
Set Medic/First Aid
Paul Govey
Re-Recording Mixer
Dan Maslen
Storyboard Artist
Julian Slater
Supervising Sound Editor
Emily Hobbs
Production Assistant
Katie Heller
Personal Assistant
Helen Clare
Production Coordinator
Olivier Pron
Matte Artist
Jill McCullough
Dialogue Coach
Caroline Fallon
Production Assistant
Rowan Laidlaw
Producer's Assistant
Alexander Oakley
Second Unit Assistant Director
Benny Harper
Best Boy Electric
Stuart Bullen
Arthur Graley
Foley Editor
Andrea Coles
Producer's Assistant
Faye Stevens
Post Production Coordinator
Nigel Heath
Re-Recording Mixer
Anna Cooper
Casting Assistant
Shruti Shah
Production Controller
Clare Spragge
Costumes Supervisor
Jen Gasson
Personal Assistant
Mark Clayton
Jason Dully
Second Assistant Camera
Bryn Lawrence
Third Assistant Director
Olivia Lloyd
Second Assistant Director
Jacquie Glanville
Assistant to the Director
Tania Windsor Blunden
Post Production Supervisor
Linda Gamble
Unit Publicist
Jon Capleton
Matchmove Artist
Isaac Sananes
First Assistant Accountant
Martin Hession
Model Effects
Martin Joy
Location Manager
Mark Neale
First Assistant Editor
Ilenka Jelowicki
Extra Casting
Luke Redgrave
Second Unit Camera
Gary Birmingham
Transportation Coordinator
Mally Chung
Unit Production Manager
Helen Ingham
Heba Thorisdottir
Hannah Godwin
Post Production Coordinator
Nathan Kelly
Producer's Assistant
Felix Levinson
Production Assistant
Sui Rajakaruna
Assistant Art Director
Michael Fentum
Foley Editor
Ian Wilkinson
ADR Editor
Ian Wilkinson
Dialogue Editor
Ivana Primorac
Hair Styles
Ivana Primorac
Sheara Abrahams
Production Assistant
Lucy Ainsworth-Taylor
Visual Effects Producer
Peter Burgis
Foley Artist
Ben Renton
Assistant Editor
Ben Ward
Production Assistant
Lisa Pickering
Hair Styles
Lisa Pickering
Jane Robertson
Additional Cinematography
Jane Robertson
Line Producer
Barbara Olvera
Hair Styles
Emma Owen
Assistant to the Director
Sophie Tyler
Assistant Set Decorator
Graham Sutton
Music Editor
Alex Levenson
Producer's Assistant
Nigel Wilkinson
Special Effects Technician
Roisin Carty
Dialect Coach
Adam Klaff
Producer's Assistant
Clive Osborne
Boom Operator
Gerard Naprous
Stunts Coordinator
Angela Barson
Visual Effects Supervisor
Olly Tellett
First Assistant Camera
Synnove Godeseth
Production Assistant
Jo Harrop
Assistant Production Coordinator
Alex Bailey
Still Photographer
Francesca Castellano
Production Coordinator
David Otzen
Alan Payne
Graphic Design
David Horrill
Properties Master
Paul Gooch
Hair Styles
Paul Gooch
Sanaz Missaghian
Assistant Production Coordinator
Nicky George
Second Assistant Camera
Taryn Cox
Personal Assistant
Ashley Tyas
Title Design
Jayne Spooner
Script Supervisor