Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Opposite of Sex Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Screenwriter [[Performer~P167026~Don Roos~donroos]] made his directorial debut with this oddball sex comedy. The tale is narrated by 16-year-old Louisiana tramp Dedee Truitt ([[Performer~P59916~Christina Ricci~christinaricci]]), who buries her stepfather and then heads for Indiana to visit her homosexual half-brother Bill ([[Performer~P88058~Martin Donovan~martindonovan]]). Recovering from the AIDS death of longtime companion Tom, schoolteacher Bill has linked up with a new partner, handsome Matt ([[Performer~P220858~Ivan Sergei~ivansergei]]). After Dedee seduces Matt and claims she's pregnant by him, the couple steals $10,000 from Bill's safety deposit box and heads for L.A. Alarmed by Matt's seeming disappearance and hoping to blackmail Bill into disclosing Matt's whereabouts, Bill's former student (also Matt's former beau) Jason ([[Performer~P25581~Johnny Galecki~johnnygalecki]]) accuses Bill of molestation four years previous, a charge that jeopardizes Bill's job as a schoolteacher. To clear his name, Bill, and Tom's sister Lucia ([[Performer~P39535~Lisa Kudrow~lisakudrow]]), leave for L.A. to locate Matt and Dedee. Lucia is a repressed old maid who flinches from even the thought of sex, but even so, weird Sheriff Tippett ([[Performer~P43473~Lyle Lovett~lylelovett]]) takes a fancy to her. Meanwhile, questions are raised about the true father of Dedee's baby, and the film comes to a climax with a shooting, a cross-county chase, and the inevitable showdown between the quirky characters. Shown at the 1998 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:May 22, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
New York Film Critics Circle Lisa Kudrow Best Supporting Actress 1998 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Lisa Kudrow Best Supporting Actress 1998 Nominee
National Board of Review Christina Ricci Best Supporting Actress 1998 Winner
Toronto Film Critics Association Christina Ricci Best Actress - Runner-up 1998 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Christina Ricci Best Actress 1998 Nominee

Crew

David Kirkpatrick
Producer
Michael Besman
Producer
Hubert Taczanowski
Cinematographer
Mason K. Daring
Composer (Music Score)
David Codron
Editor
Steve Danton
Executive Producer
Jim Lofti
Executive Producer
Peter Mitchell
Costume Designer
Jon Ailetcher
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Danton
First Assistant Director
Advertisement