Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The One and Only Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Brash young Andy Schmidt ([[Performer~P117062~Henry Winkler~henrywinkler]]) can't make a go of it as an actor in the early 1950s. Still, he wins the hand of Mary Crawford ([[Performer~P16980~Kim Darby~kimdarby]]), and the two of them try to make ends meet in New York City. Andy is on the verge of starvation when he befriends wrestling-promoter Sidney Seltzer ([[Performer~P109574~Gene Saks~genesaks]]). At last, Andy has found the perfect outlet for his overbaked performing style: he becomes "The One and Only," a Gorgeous George-like professional wrestler. Though his ring career skyrockets, Andy's private life suffers until his wife Mary lets him know (with a mean uppercut!) who's going to be boss. Like many of director [[Performer~P107881~Carl Reiner's~carlreiner]] directorial efforts, the real strength in The One and Only lies in its impeccable supporting cast, ranging from [[Performer~P32854~Polly Holliday~pollyholliday]] as Darby's mother to [[Performer~P73572~Herve Villechaize~hervevillechaize]] as a horny midget "rassler." ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:February 3, 1978

Cast

Henry Winkler
as Andy Schmidt
Kim Darby
as Mary Crawford
Gene Saks
as Sidney Seltzer
William Daniels
as Mr. Crawford
Polly Holliday
as Mrs. Crawford
Harold Gould
as Hector Moses
Herve Villechaize
as Milton Miller
Bill Baldwin
as Announcer in Des Moines
Ed Begley, Jr.
as Arnold the King
Brandon Cruz
as Sherman
Charles Frank
as Paul Harris
Richard Karron
as The Elephant
H.B. Haggerty
as Capt. Nemo
Ken Olfson
as Mr. Arnold
Lucy Lee Flippin
as Agatha Franklen
Mary Woronov
as Arlene
Ralph Manza
as Bellman
Will Seltzer
as Eddie
Amzie Strickland
as House Mother
Peter Brocco
as Autograph Hound
Jack Scalia
as Waiter

Crew

Carl Reiner
Director
David V. Picker
Producer
Robert Halmi, Sr.
Producer
Bert I. Gordon
Screenwriter
Victor J. Kemper
Cinematographer
Marilyn Bergman
Songwriter
Patrick Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Bud Molin
Editor
Edward C. Carfagno
Production Designer
Robert Halmi, Sr.
Executive Producer
Bud Alper
Sound/Sound Designer
Robert Birnbaum
First Assistant Director
Advertisement