Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Obama Effect Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A fiftysomething insurance salesman takes an intense interest in [[Performer~P504337~Barack Obama~barackobama]]'s 2008 presidential campaign after experiencing a health scare that prompts him to reassess his priorities in life. Concerned that he doesn't have much time left and convinced that [[Performer~P504337~Obama~barackobama]]'s inspirational message of change is genuine, John Thomas (director/co-writer [[Performer~P20824~Charles S. Dutton~charlessdutton]]) hides his recent heart attack from his loving wife Molly ([[Performer~P10332~Vanessa Bell Calloway~vanessabellcalloway]]) and reconnects with his staunchly Republican relative MLK ([[Performer~P349932~Katt Williams~kattwilliams]]). Meanwhile, John's three children have their own issues to contend with: His rebellious son Kalil ([[Performer~P343171~Wesley Jonathan~wesleyjonathan]]) lashes out by joining the Republican Party; his engaged daughter Tamika ([[Performer~P230446~Meagan Good~meagangood]]) pleads for her father's support as her wedding approaches; and his other son Jamel ([[Performer~P721065~Zab Judah~zabjudah]]) -- a promising pugilist -- finds his career hindered by a shady manager ([[Performer~P72139~Glynn Turman~glynnturman]]). In addition, John's brother ([[Performer~P562993~C.J. Mack~cjmack]]) seeks to turn over a new leaf after making parole, and upon learning about her husband's failing health Molly urges John to focus on the things that really matter in life. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:July 13, 2012
Advertisement