Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The North Avenue Irregulars Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of the bigger non-cartoon moneymakers for Disney in the 1970s, The North Avenue Irregulars is predicated on the premise of the "Neighborhood Watch" system. Priest Michael Hill ([[Performer~P31943~Edward Herrmann~edwardherrmann]]), newly arrived on North Avenue, decides to buck the patriarchal notions of his superiors by delegating church responsibilities to the neighborhood women. Since the ladies include Vickie, Jane, Anne, Claire and Rose ([[Performer~P30591~Barbara Harris~barbaraharris]], [[Performer~P72636~Karen Valentine~karenvalentine]], [[Performer~P13434~Susan Clark~susanclark]], [[Performer~P41211~Cloris Leachman~clorisleachman]] and [[Performer~P37552~Patsy Kelly~patsykelly]]), we're well primed for a surfeit of feistiness. Father Michael entrusts the church funds to Rose, who loses it all at the race track. In trying to retrieve the cash, he comes up against an influential bookie ring, controlled by several of the above-suspicion town officials. The wily priest responds by organizing the ladies of his congregation into the North Avenue Irregulars, a two-fisted crimefighting unit. There's slapstick aplenty within the film's 99 minutes, including the expected comic car crash. North Avenue Irregulars is based on a (drawn-from-life?) novel by the Reverend Albert Fay Hill. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Edward Herrmann
as Michael Hill
Barbara Harris
as Vickie
Cloris Leachman
as Claire
Susan Clark
as Anne
Karen Valentine
as Jane
Michael Constantine
as Marv
Patsy Kelly
as Rose
Douglas Fowley
as Delaney
Virginia Capers
as Cleo
Steve Franken
as Tom
Dena Dietrich
as Mrs. Carlisle
Dick Fuchs
as Howard
Herb Voland
as Dr. Fulton
Alan Hale, Jr.
as Harry the Hat
Melora Hardin
as Carmel
Bobby Rolofson
as Dean
Frank Campanella
as Max
Ivor Francis
as Rev. Wainwright
Marjorie Bennett
as Mother Thurber
Ruth Buzzi
as Dr. Rheems
Louisa Moritz
as Mrs. Gossin

Crew

Bruce Bilson
Director
Ron Miller
Producer
Tom Leetch
Producer
Don Tait
Screenwriter
Al Kasha
Songwriter
Joel Hirschhorn
Songwriter
Louis Mann
Production Designer
Kevin Corcoran
Associate Producer
Norman Rockett
Set Designer
Chuck Keehne
Costume Designer
Emily Sundby
Costume Designer
Eustace Lycett
Special Effects
Art Cruickshank
Special Effects
Joe Hale
Intertitle Writer
Eddy Donno
Stunts
Eddy Donno
Stunts Coordinator
Michael Lloyd
Music Producer
Art Stevens
Title Design
Advertisement