Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Night Listener Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A man whose life has been touched by tragic illness is drawn into the life of another victim whose story has an unsettling twist in this drama. Gabriel Noone ([[Performer~P116900~Robin Williams~robinwilliams]]) is a radio talk show host who has developed a loyal following for his deeply personal on-air monologues, many of which deal with his relationship with his companion Jess ([[Performer~P240595~Bobby Cannavale~bobbycannavale]]), who is HIV-positive and struggling with his health. When Jess' condition improves, he surprises Gabriel by announcing he needs his space and has decided to break up with him. Gabriel is shaken and feels creatively blocked until Ashe ([[Performer~P50922~Joe Morton~joemorton]]), a friend in the publishing business, gives him an advance copy of a memoir by Pete Logand ([[Performer~P281362~Rory Culkin~roryculkin]]), a 14-year-old boy living with AIDS. Pete's book is a harrowing memoir of a childhood fraught with abuse of all sorts meted out at the hands of his parents, and Gabriel is deeply moved by his story. One night, Gabriel gets a phone call from Pete, who claims to be a big fan of his radio show, but the call is cut off by Donna ([[Performer~P14165~Toni Collette~tonicollette]]), Pete's stern and protective stepmother. While Gabriel admires Pete's book, he begins to question its veracity, and with the help of Anna ([[Performer~P197286~Sandra Oh~sandraoh]]) tries to research the facts behind the story. As he uncovers more loose ends, Gabriel begins to suspect that Pete isn't the true author of the work, and that Donna has created his terrible past in the name of literary celebrity. The Night Listener was adapted from the novel by [[Performer~P289299~Armistead Maupin~armisteadmaupin]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 4, 2006

Cast

Robin Williams
as Gabriel Noone
Toni Collette
as Donna Logand
Bobby Cannavale
as Jess
Joe Morton
as Ashe
Sandra Oh
as Anna
Rory Culkin
as Pete Logand
John Cullum
as Pap Noone
Becky Ann Baker
as Waitress
Lisa Emery
as Darlie Noone
Maryann Plunkett
as Alice

Crew

Patrick Stettner
Director
Jill Footlick
Producer
Jeff Sharp
Producer
Robert Kessel
Producer
Armistead Maupin
Book Author
Terry Anderson
Screenwriter
Armistead Maupin
Screenwriter
Patrick Stettner
Screenwriter
Lisa Rinzler
Cinematographer
Peter Nashel
Composer (Music Score)
Linda Cohen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Andy Keir
Editor
Mike Shaw
Production Designer
Eva Radke
Art Director
Wouter Barendrecht
Co-producer
Michael J. Werner
Co-producer
Brett Williams
Associate Producer
Nina Wolarsky
Associate Producer
Jonathan Sehring
Executive Producer
Terry Anderson
Executive Producer
Armistead Maupin
Executive Producer
Michael Hogan
Executive Producer
Caroline Kaplan
Executive Producer
Rich Devine
Set Designer
Marina Draghici
Costume Designer
Noah Vivekanand Timan
Sound/Sound Designer
Carrie Fix
First Assistant Director
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Kerry Barden
Casting
Suzanne Crowley
Casting
Jamie H. Zelermyer
Line Producer
Derek Yip
Production Accountant
Advertisement