Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Naked Gun Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

We know we're in a 1988 film when we're invited to laugh at [[Performer~P65865~O.J. Simpson~ojsimpson]] in an opening slapstick sequence. We can also pinpoint the year of production when hard-nosed cop Frank Drebin ([[Performer~P52664~Leslie Nielsen~leslienielsen]]), during a scuffle with the world's leading dictators, wipes the wine-colored birthmark off the head of Soviet president Mikhail Gorbachev. Those wacky ZAZ boys -- [[Performer~P118048~David Zucker~davidzucker]], [[Performer~P78951~Jim Abrahams~jimabrahams]], and [[Performer~P118047~Jerry Zucker~jerryzucker]] -- serve up a feature-length spin-off of their cult favorite TV show [[Feature~V175267~Police Squad!~policesquad[tvseries]]]. Seeking vengeance when his partner ([[Performer~P65865~Simpson~ojsimpson]]) is shot full of holes by drug dealers, dead-pan and dead-brained Lt. Frank Drebin searches for the Mister Big behind it all. Drebin suspects above-reproach shipping magnate Vincent Ludwig ([[Performer~P50098~Ricardo Montalban~ricardomontalban]]), but he can't prove a thing. Bumped from the force by the mayor ([[Performer~P45329~Nancy Marchand~nancymarchand]]), Drebin, with the unexpected assistance of Ludwig's ex-girlfriend ([[Performer~P57702~Priscilla Presley~priscillapresley]]), manages to nab the bad guy at a baseball game, where Reggie Jackson has been programmed to assassinate Queen Elizabeth. MGM mogul [[Performer~P113918~Irving Thalberg~irvinggthalberg]] once reportedly told the [[Performer~P83177~Marx Brothers~larrybrothers]], "You can't build jokes on top of jokes." The producers of Naked Gun prove otherwise; indeed, one could develop writer's cramp just listing the gags in the film's first 20 minutes. Naked Gun: From the Files of Police Squad was followed by two lesser but still hilarious sequels, [[Feature~V76358~Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear~thenakedgun212:thesmelloffear]] (1991) and [[Feature~V131175~Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult~thenakedgun3313:thefinalinsult]] (1994). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 2, 1988

Cast

Leslie Nielsen
as Lt. Frank Drebin
George Kennedy
as Capt. Ed Hocken
Priscilla Presley
as Jane Spencer
Ricardo Montalban
as Vincent Ludwig
O.J. Simpson
as Nordberg
Nancy Marchand
as Mayor
John Houseman
as Driving Instructor
Lawrence Tierney
as Angel Manager
Jeannette Charles
as Elizabeth II
Joyce Brothers
as Baseball Announcer
Ken Minyard
as Ken &
Leslie Maier
as 'Weird Leslie'
Raye Birk
as Pahpshmir
Susan Beaubian
as Mrs. Nordberg
Susan Breslau
as "Hey, look out!"
Tim McCarver
as Baseball Announcer
Tiny Ron
as Al
Winifred Freedman
as Stephie
"Weird Al" Yankovic
as 'Weird Al'
Nicholas Worth
as Thug #1
Christopher Keene
as "Please disperse. Please disperse."
Joe Grifasi
as Foreman
Tom Dugan
as Drug Dealer #2
Sydney Urshan
as Baseball Fan with O.J.
Ronald G. Joseph
as Thug #27
Prince Hughes
as Idi Amin
Mark Holton
as "It's Enrico Pallazzo!"
David Katz
as Arafat
Jim Smith
as "Sorry, fellas"
Ed Williams
as Ted Olsen
Jim Palmer
as Baseball Announcer
Curt Gowdy
as Baseball Announcer
Reggie Jackson
as Angel Right Fielder
Jeff Wright
as "Mr. Pallazzo? Would you come with me?"
Robert Arthur
as Bob
Melvin Allen
as Baseball Announcer
Brinke Stevens
as Girl in showers (uncredited)
Burton Zucker
as Photographer
Charles Gherardi
as Khomeini
Charlotte Zucker
as Dominique
Chuck Fick
as Angels Catcher
Dennis Packer
as Baseball P.A. Announcer
Dick Enberg
as Baseball Announcer
Dick Vitale
as Baseball Announcer
Don Woodard
as "There he is!"
Doris Hess
as Nurse #2
Edwina Moore
as "Mr. Pallazzo, our head usher will be.."
Fredric Arnold
as "Hey! What's the meaning of this?"
Hank Robinson
as First Base Umpire

Crew

David Zucker
Director
Robert Weiss
Producer
David Zucker
Screenwriter
Jerry Zucker
Screenwriter
Jim Abrahams
Screenwriter
Pat Proft
Screenwriter
Robert M. Stevens
Cinematographer
Ira Newborn
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Jablow
Editor
Don Woodruff
Art Director
Kevin Marcy
Associate Producer
John D. Schofield
Associate Producer
Jim Abrahams
Executive Producer
David Zucker
Executive Producer
Jerry Zucker
Executive Producer
Mary Vogt
Costume Designer
Ronald Judkins
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Thomas D. Causey
Sound/Sound Designer
Chuck Fick
Consultant/advisor
Fern Champion
Casting
Pamela Basker
Casting
Jim Scribner
Makeup
Advertisement