Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Music of Chance Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Documentary filmmaker [[Performer~P93000~Philip Haas~philiphaas]] made his dramatic feature film debut with The Music of Chance, adapted from [[Performer~P188298~Paul Auster~paulauster]]'s terse, existential novel. The film follows the plight of two hapless drifters -- Jim Nashe ([[Performer~P55373~Mandy Patinkin~mandypatinkin]]), who is escaping family and responsibility with an inheritance and a red BMW, and Jack Pozzi ([[Performer~P67051~James Spader~jamesspader]]), a down-on-his-luck gambler and world class manipulator. Pozzi convinces Nashe to shoot the works and put his remaining $10,000 into a high stakes poker game against two rich suckers -- reclusive lottery winners Willie Stone ([[Performer~P28728~Joel Grey~joelgrey]]) and Bill Flower ([[Performer~P20780~Charles Durning~charlesdurning]]), who share a lavish but isolated country estate, using the remains of their lottery fortune to construct a self-contained world on the grounds of their mansion. Instead of bilking the two millionaires, however, Pozzi and Nashe lose their windfall and find themselves indebted to Stone and Flowers, who compel them to work off their losses by constructing a stone monument on their estate, a chore that results in deception, flight, and possibly murder. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

James Spader
as Jack Pozzi
Mandy Patinkin
as James Nashe
M. Emmet Walsh
as Calvin Murks
Charles Durning
as Bill Flowers
Joel Grey
as Willy Stone
Samantha Mathis
as Tiffany
Chris Penn
as Floyd Murks
Paul Auster
as Driver
Pearl Jones
as Louise

Crew

Philip Haas
Director
Frederick Zollo
Producer
Dylan Sellers
Producer
Paul Auster
Book Author
Philip Haas
Screenwriter
Belinda Haas
Screenwriter
Bernard Zitzermann
Cinematographer
Jean de Segonzac
Cinematographer
Belinda Haas
Editor
Hugo Luczyc-Wyhowski
Production Designer
Ruth Ammon
Art Director
Kerry Orent
Co-producer
Paul Colichman
Executive Producer
Miles A. Copeland III
Executive Producer
Christy Belt
Set Designer
Rudy Dillon
Costume Designer
Billy Anagnos
Stunts
Don Hewitt, Sr.
Stunts
Bonnie Timmermann
Casting
Gigi Williams
Makeup
Advertisement