Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Mothman Prophecies Details


Based on a book by paranormal investigator John Keel, this spooky, X-Files-type supernatural thriller is purportedly based loosely on true events that occurred in the small town of Point Pleasant, WV, in 1966-1967. Richard Gere stars as journalist John Klein, an up-and-coming reporter devastated by the death of his beloved wife Mary (Debra Messing) following a car accident. Mary saw a mysterious vision immediately before the crash, a haunting image of a moth-like creature. Two years later, Klein is driving to an interview with the governor of Virginia when he suddenly finds himself hundreds of miles out of his way in a small town on the West Virginia-Ohio border. He discovers that strange events are occurring there, including sightings of the "mothman," as well as UFOs and bizarre alien-like telephone calls. Klein stays to investigate, despite the protests of skeptical cop Connie Parker (Laura Linney) and the initial hostility of spooked local Gordon (Will Patton). He soon discovers that sightings of the mothman are historical portents of doom and disaster, omens that may foretell a terrible cataclysm about to strike Point Pleasant. The Mothman Prophecies reunites Gere and Linney, who previously starred together in Primal Fear (1996). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:January 25, 2002


Richard Gere
as John Klein
Laura Linney
as Connie
Will Patton
as Gordon Smallwood
Debra Messing
as Mary Klein
Lucinda Jenney
as Denise Smallwood
Alan Bates
as Alexander Leek
David Eigenberg
as Ed Fleischman
Ann McDonough
as Lucy Griffin
Nesbitt Blaisdell
as Chief Josh Jarrett
Bill Laing
as Indrid Cold
Murphy Dunne
as Gov. Rob McCallum
Matt Miller
as Aide #2
Sam Nicotero
as Mano on Bridge
Mark Pellington
as Bartender
Rohn Thomas
as Dr. Williams
Nick Keeley
as Spectator #1
Susan Korstanje
as Newsperson
Tom Stoviak
as Real Estate Agent
Clay Bunting
as Kevin Mills (7 yrs.)
Jennifer Martin
as Coffee Shop Cashier
Josh Braun
as Aide #3
Pete Handelman
as Aide
Tim Hartman
as Sonny
Christin Frame
as Holly
Billy Mott
as Otto
Elizabeth Cazenave
as Bellhop
Bob Tracey
as Cyrus Bills
Scott Nunnally
as Orderly
Bettina Rousos
as Spectator #4
Dan Callahan
as C.J.
Harris Mackenzie
as TV Journalist
David Press
as Woodrow
Betsy Zajko
as Tory Pherris
Tom Tully
as Motel Manager
Yvonne Erickson
as Dr. McElory
Doug Korstanje
as News Anchor


Mark Pellington
Tom Rosenberg
Gary Lucchesi
Gary W. Goldstein
Richard Hatem
Fred Murphy
Composer (Music Score)
Liza Richardson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Brian Berdan
Richard Hoover
Production Designer
Troy Sizemore
Art Director
Richard Hatem
James McQuaide
Ted Tannenbaum
Executive Producer
Terry McKay
Executive Producer
Richard S. Wright
Executive Producer
Claude Letessier
Set Designer
Diana Stoughton
Set Designer
Diana Stoughton
Set Decorator
Susan Lyall
Costume Designer
Claude Letessier
Sound/Sound Designer
John Hockridge
First Assistant Director
Sheila Jaffe
Georgianne Walken
Laurel Klick
Visual Effects Supervisor
Robert Grasmere
Second Unit Director
Robert Grasmere
Special Effects Supervisor
Robert Grasmere
Visual Effects Supervisor
Paul Taglianetti
Visual Effects Producer
Jeff Rona
Additional Music