Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Moth Diaries Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P201982~Mary Harron~maryharron]] adapts author [[Performer~P711947~Rachel Klein~rachelklein]]'s portentous novel about a teenage boarding-school student who fears that a mysterious newcomer has cast a dark spell over her cherished best friend. In the aftermath of her father's suicide, Rebecca ([[Performer~P306511~Sarah Bolger~sarahbolger]]) had a difficult time making an emotional recovery. That all changed when she met Lucy ([[Performer~P339004~Sarah Gadon~sarahgadon]]), a fellow student who helped to draw her out of her deep depression. Upon returning for their next semester at Brangwyn College, however, Rebecca and Lucy begin drifting apart following the arrival of Ernessa ([[Performer~P523181~Lily Cole~lilycole]]), a moody new student who takes an immediate liking to Lucy and accosts her at every opportunity. When Rebecca's teacher Mr. Davies ([[Performer~P230859~Scott Speedman~scottspeedman]]) gives his class the assignment of reading [[Performer~P317708~Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu~josephsheridanlefanu]]'s classic gothic novel Carmilla, Rebecca begins to suspect Ernessa of being a vampire intent on consuming Lucy's life force. Those suspicions seem to be confirmed when the students and staff of the school begin dying under mysterious circumstances and Lucy falls gravely ill. But the more Rebecca reaches out to Mr. Davies for help, the more unstable she begins to appear. Left with no other choice in order to save the life of her best friend, Rebecca vows to reveal Ernessa for what she truly is, and in the process makes a disturbing discovery. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 20, 2012

Cast

Lily Cole
as Ernessa
Sarah Gadon
as Lucy
Sarah Bolger
as Rebecca
Scott Speedman
as Mr. Davies
Judy Parfitt
as Mrs. Rood
Anne Day-Jones
as Rebecca's Mother
Valerie Tian
as Charley
Kathleen Fee
as Miss Bobbie
Julian Casey
as Rebecca's Father
Leif Anderson
as Policeman
Alain Goulem
as Detective

Crew

Mary Harron
Director
David Collins
Producer
Mary Harron
Screenwriter
Declan Quinn
Cinematographer
Lesley Barber
Composer (Music Score)
Andrew Marcus
Editor
Sylvain Gingras
Production Designer
Camille Parent
Art Director
Sarah Ramey
Associate Producer
Sandra Cunningham
Executive Producer
Zygi Kamasa
Executive Producer
Edward R. Pressman
Executive Producer
Norton Herrick
Executive Producer
Jon Katz
Executive Producer
Alex Touikan
Set Designer
Daniel Carpentier
Set Decorator
Ginette Pare
Set Decorator
Nicoletta Massone
Costume Designer
Buck Deachman
First Assistant Director
Shaheen Baig
Casting
John Buchan
Casting
Jason Knight
Casting
Paul Schnee
Casting
Rosina Bucci
Casting
Kerry Barden
Casting
Ryal Cosgrove
Special Effects Supervisor
Dominique Dupras
Hair Designer
Simon Poudrette
Sound Recordist
Pierre Blondin
Location Manager
Adrien Morot
Makeup Special Effects
Brendan Condren
Stunts Coordinator
Alain Dussault
Graphic Design
Bethan Mowat
Second Assistant Director
Jose Holder
Storyboard Artist
Advertisement