Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Longest Yard Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of the toughest and best-remembered sports movies of the 1970s gets a humorous makeover in this comedy. Paul "Wrecking" Crewe ([[Performer~P62990~Adam Sandler~adamsandler]]) was once a famous professional football player, but after several years out of the limelight and an alcohol problem have taken their toll, Crewe is arrested for a serious traffic accident aggravated by the fact he was drunk. Crewe is sentenced to Allenville Penitentiary, where Warden Hazen ([[Performer~P15842~James Cromwell~jamescromwell]]) is something of a football fan. Hazen had organized his guards into an impressive football team, and clears a healthy profit by taking bets on their games. Looking to make the competition more interesting, Hazen suggests that Crewe put together a team from the inmate population to play his guards. With the help of fellow prisoner Caretaker ([[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]]), Crewe recruits the heaviest hitters from the cell block for the team, but the guys don't play like a unit until Crewe and Caretaker get some help from Nate Scarborough ([[Performer~P108069~Burt Reynolds~burtreynolds]]), a former college and NFL coach doing hard time. Adapted from [[Performer~P79278~Robert Aldrich~robertaldrich]]'s 1974 box-office smash of the same name, The Longest Yard also features rap star [[Performer~P297993~Nelly~nelly]] and [[Performer~P72216~Nicholas Turturro~nicholasturturro]]; the film has previously been loosely remade in 2001 as [[Feature~V259438~Mean Machine~meanmachine]], with the action moved to England and the game changed to soccer. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 27, 2005

Cast

Adam Sandler
as Paul "Wrecking" Crewe
Chris Rock
as Caretaker
Burt Reynolds
as Nate Scarborough
Nelly
as Meggert
James Cromwell
as Warden Hazen
William Fichtner
as Captain Knauer
Michael Irvin
as Deacon Moss
David Patrick Kelly
as Unger
Bill Romanowski
as Guard Lambert
Bill Goldberg
as Battle
Brian Bosworth
as Guard Garner
Kevin Nash
as Guard Engleheart
"Stone Cold" Steve Austin
as Guard Dunham
Bob Sapp
as Switowski
Dalip Singh
as Turley
Cloris Leachman
as Lynette
Nicholas Turturro
as Brucie
Tracy Morgan
as Ms. Tucker
Terry Crews
as Cheeseburger Eddy
Lobo Sebastian
as Torres
Ed Lauter
as Duane
Courteney Cox
Jim Rome
as Announcer
Dan Patrick
Chris Berman
Rob Schneider

Crew

Peter Segal
Director
David Gale
Producer
Jack Giarraputo
Producer
Sheldon Turner
Screenwriter
Albert S. Ruddy
Screen Story
Dean Semler
Cinematographer
Michael Dilbeck
Musical Direction/Supervision
Teddy Castellucci
Composer (Music Score)
Jeff Gourson
Editor
Perry Andelin Blake
Production Designer
Alan Au
Art Director
Alan Au
Supervising Art Director
Domenic Silvestri
Art Director
Heather Parry
Co-producer
Kevin Grady
Associate Producer
Barry Bernardi
Executive Producer
Adam Sandler
Executive Producer
Allen Covert
Executive Producer
Michael Ewing
Executive Producer
Van Toffler
Executive Producer
Tim Herlihy
Executive Producer
Albert S. Ruddy
Executive Producer
David Gale
Executive Producer
Gary Fettis
Set Decorator
Ellen Lutter
Costume Designer
Thomas D. Causey
Sound/Sound Designer
John Hockridge
First Assistant Director
John Papsidera
Casting
Dan Sweetman
Second Unit Director
Perry Andelin Blake
Second Unit Director
Advertisement