Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Thelma & Louise Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P17342~Geena Davis~geenadavis]] and [[Performer~P63158~Susan Sarandon~susansarandon]] play Thelma and Louise, two working-class friends who together have planned a weekend getaway from the men in their lives. Thelma's husband, Darryl ([[Performer~P47257~Chris McDonald~christophermcdonald]]), is an overbearing oaf, and Louise's boyfriend, Jimmy ([[Performer~P44538~Michael Madsen~michaelmadsen]]), simply will not commit. Though the road trip starts out as a good time, the pair eventually wind up at a bar. A tipsy Thelma ends up in the parking lot of the bar with a would-be rapist. Louise shoots the man dead. The two decide that they have no choice but to go on the run. They eventually meet up with a young criminal named J.D. ([[Performer~P56988~Brad Pitt~bradpitt]]), whose cowboy spirit rubs off on the timid Thelma. The pair is pursued by a police officer ([[Performer~P37381~Harvey Keitel~harveykeitel]]) sympathetic toward their plight. He chases them to the Grand Canyon, where the women make a fateful decision about their lives. Directed by [[Performer~P110579~Ridley Scott~ridleyscott]], Thelma & Louise brought first-time screenwriter [[Performer~P97322~Callie Khouri~calliekhouri]] many accolades including the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:July 12, 1991

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Adrian Biddle Best Cinematography 1991 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Thom Noble Best Editing 1991 Nominee
National Board of Review Geena Davis Best Actress 1991 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Geena Davis Best Actress 1991 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Geena Davis Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1991 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Geena Davis Best Actress 1991 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Harvey Keitel Best Supporting Actor 1990 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ridley Scott David Lean Award 1991 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Ridley Scott Best Director 1991 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ridley Scott Best Director 1991 Nominee
National Board of Review Susan Sarandon Best Actress 1991 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Susan Sarandon Best Actress 1991 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Susan Sarandon Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1991 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Susan Sarandon Best Actress 1991 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Callie Khouri Best Screenplay 1991 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Callie Khouri Best Original Screenplay 1991 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Callie Khouri Best Original Screenplay 1991 Nominee

Cast

Susan Sarandon
as Louise Sawyer
Geena Davis
as Thelma Dickinson
Harvey Keitel
as Hal Slocumb
Michael Madsen
as Jimmy
Christopher McDonald
as Darryl
Brad Pitt
as J.D.
Stephen Tobolowsky
as Max
Shelly Desai
as East Indian Motel Clerk
Jack Lindine
as I.D. Tech
Lucinda Jenney
as Lena the Waitress
Carol Mansell
as Waitress
Stephen Polk
as Surveillance Man
Sonny Carl Davis
as Albert
Michael Delman
as Silver Bullet Dancer
Timothy Carhart
as Harlan Puckett
Marco St. John
as Truck Driver
Ken Swofford
as Major
Jason Beghe
as State Trooper
Charlie Sexton
as Himself
Noel L. Walcott III
as Mountain Bike Rider

Crew

Ridley Scott
Director
Ridley Scott
Producer
Mimi Polk Sotela
Producer
Mimi Polk
Producer
Callie Khouri
Screenwriter
Adrian Biddle
Cinematographer
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Keith A. Wester
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thom Noble
Editor
Norris Spencer
Production Designer
Lisa Dean
Art Director
Callie Khouri
Co-producer
Dean O'Brien
Co-producer
Craig Graham
Set Designer
Bobby Bass
Stunts
Louis Di Giaimo
Casting
Richard Arrington
Makeup
Advertisement