Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Last September Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Love, politics, and class at once bring together and tear apart an extended family in this period drama. In 1920, Ireland is in the midst of a political upheaval, as upper class Anglo-Irish Protestants are driven from the country by the nation's increasingly vocal wishes Irish Catholic majority. Sir Richard Naylor ([[Performer~P25729~Michael Gambon~michaelgambon]]) and his wife Lady Myra ([[Performer~P66495~Maggie Smith~maggiesmith]]) are wealthy members of the Anglo-Irish aristocracy who slowly realize the life they've known in County Cork is coming to an end. Living with the Naylors are their financially-embarrassed friends Hugo and Francie Montmorency ([[Performer~P76764~Lambert Wilson~lambertwilson]] and [[Performer~P6297~Jane Birkin~janebirkin]]); Marda Norton ([[Performer~P64917~Fiona Shaw~fionashaw]]), another friend who was one involved with Hugo; their nephew Laurence ([[Performer~P270342~Jonathan Slinger~jonathanslinger]]), a student at Oxford; and their niece Lois ([[Performer~P242434~Keeley Hawes~keeleyhawes]]). Lois is infatuated with Gerald ([[Performer~P264435~David Tennat~davidtennant]]), a British officer helping to mind the Naylors' property, though Myra believes he's beneath Lois' station; however, she's also keenly attracted to Connolly ([[Performer~P196835~Gary Lydon~garylydon]]), an IRA soldier who is hiding in a mill on the estate. The Last September was based on the novel by Elizabeth Bowen. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 16, 1999

Cast

Maggie Smith
as Lady Myra
Michael Gambon
as Sir Richard Naylor
Jane Birkin
as Francie Montmorency
Fiona Shaw
as Marda Norton
Lambert Wilson
as Hugo Montmorency
David Tennant
as Capt. Gerald Colthurst
Richard Roxburgh
as Daventry
Keeley Hawes
as Lois Farquar
Gary Lydon
as Peter Connolly
Jonathan Slinger
as Laurence Carstairs

Crew

Deborah Warner
Director
Slawomir Idziak
Cinematographer
Zbigniew Preisner
Composer (Music Score)
Caroline Amies
Production Designer
Marina Gefter
Co-producer
Sara Giles
Associate Producer
Georges Benayoun
Executive Producer
Neil Jordan
Executive Producer
Stephen Woolley
Executive Producer
Nik Powell
Executive Producer
John Bright
Costume Designer
Dan Birch
Sound/Sound Designer
Leo Davis
Casting
Advertisement