Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Jungle Book Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The final animated feature produced under the supervision of [[Performer~P87871~Walt Disney~waltdisney]] is a lively neo-swing musical, loosely based upon the tales of [[Performer~P217696~Rudyard Kipling~rudyardkipling]]. The story takes place in a tropical jungle where people are conspicuously absent. But one day Bagheera the Panther (voice of [[Performer~P10103~Sebastian Cabot~sebastiancabot]]) discovers a baby in the wreck of a boat. Feeling pity on the child, Bagheera takes him to be raised with the wolves. Ten years later, the child has grown into Mowgli (voice of [[Performer~P59538~Bruce Reitherman~brucereitherman]]). Mowgli discovers that his life is in danger because of the return to the area of Shere Khan the Tiger (voice of [[Performer~P206637~George Sanders~georgesanders]]), whose hatred of humans is such that Mowgli faces certain death if discovered. Bagheera agrees to transport Mowgli to the human village, where he will be safe from Shere Khan. Along the way to the village, night falls and Mowgli and Bagheera almost succumb to the man-eating snake Kaa (voice of [[Performer~P32938~Sterling Holloway~sterlingholloway]]). Escaping Kaa's coils, they run into the lock-step military elephant band of Colonel Hathi (voice of [[Performer~P53529~J. Pat O'Malley~jpatomalley]]). Afterwards, Mowgli, who doesn't want to be sent to the human village, runs away from Bagheera and meets up with the fun-loving Baloo the Bear (voice of Phil Harrris). With both Bagheera and Baloo to protect him, Mowgli is saved from several more life-threatening situations -- including a barber-shop quartet of vultures, the crazed King Louie of the Apes (voice of [[Performer~P107102~Louis Prima~louisprima]]), and Shere Khan himself -- before making it to the village of humans. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Terry Gilkyson Best Song 1942 Nominee

Cast

Bruce Reitherman
as Mowgli the Man Cub
Phil Harris
as Baloo the Bear
Sebastian Cabot
as Bagheera the Panther
Louis Prima
as King Louie of the Apes
George Sanders
as Shere Khan the Tiger
Sterling Holloway
as Kaa the Snake
J. Pat O'Malley
as Col. Hathi the Elephant
Verna Felton
as Elephant
Clint Howard
as Elephant/
Chad Stuart
as Vulture
John Abbott
as Wolf
Ben Wright
as Wolf
Darlene Carr
as The Girl
Digby Wolfe

Crew

Wolfgang Reitherman
Director
Walt Disney
Producer
Ralph Wright
Screenwriter
Larry Clemmons
Screenwriter
Vance Gerry
Screenwriter
George Bruns
Composer (Music Score)
Richard M. Sherman
Composer (Music Score)
Terry Gilkyson
Composer (Music Score)
Norman Carlisle
Editor
Don Griffith
Set Designer
Milt Kahl
Animator
John Lounsbery
Animator
Perc Westmore
Makeup
Rudyard Kipling
Short Story Author
Advertisement