Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Invisible Man Returns Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A semi-sequel to the 1933 Universal horror masterwork The Invisible Man, The Invisible Man Returns stars [[Performer~P57806~Vincent Price~vincentprice]] in the title role. Condemned for a murder he did not commit, [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]] begs doctor [[Performer~P69224~John Sutton~johnsutton]] to inject him with the invisibility serum invented by [[Performer~P58546~Claude Rains~clauderains]] in the first film. [[Performer~P69224~Sutton~johnsutton]] does so, even though he warns [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]] that the serum will very likely drive him insane. Sir [[Performer~P93420~Cedric Hardwicke~cedrichardwicke]] co-stars as the genuine murderer, a colliery owner who framed [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]]. Though his behavior veers dangerously close to homicidal, [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]] is able to mete out retribution to [[Performer~P93420~Hardwicke~cedrichardwicke]] without stooping to murder. As he gradually weakens, [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]] is recaptured and rushed to the hospital, where his life is saved by an emergency blood transfusion. [[Performer~P57806~Price~vincentprice]]'s face is revealed to us for the first time as he vows his undying love to leading lady [[Performer~P28734~Nan Grey~nangrey]]. Taking a less playful approach to the grim goings-on than director [[Performer~P116539~James Whale~jameswhale]] had in The Invisible Man, The Invisible Man Returns is a grim little morality play, containing vestiges of [[Feature~V124648~The Count of Monte Cristo~thecountofmontecristo]] and distinguished by an odd preoccupation with the mechanics and minutiae of death (a characteristic trait in the screenplays of [[Performer~P111676~Curt Siodmak~curtsiodmak]]). The film helped to solidify the cinematic reputation of [[Performer~P57806~Vincent Price~vincentprice]], though it would be years before he'd specialize in horror on a full-time basis. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John P. Fulton Best Special Effects 1940 Nominee

Cast

Cedric Hardwicke
as Richard Cobb
Vincent Price
as Geoffrey Radcliffe
Nan Grey
as Helen Manson
John Sutton
as Dr. Frank Griffin
Cecil Kellaway
as Inspector Sampson
Alan Napier
as Willie Spears
Forrester Harvey
as Ben Jenkins
Louise Brien
as Griffin's Secretary
Edward Fielding
as Governor
Matthew Boulton
as Policeman
Harry Stubbs
as Constable Dukesbury
David Thursby
as Bob, a Warden
Eric Wilton
as Fingerprint Man
Mary Field
as Woman
Ivan Simpson
as Cotton
Jimmy Aubrey
as Plainclothesman
Edmund MacDonald
as Mineworker
Leyland Hodgson
as Chauffeur
Ernie S. Adams
as Man
Frank S. Hagney
as Bill, a Policeman
Frank O'Connor
as Policeman at Colliery
Mary Gordon
as Cook
Paul England
as Detective
George Lloyd
Harry Cording
as Shopworker

Crew

Joe May
Director
Joe May
Screen Story
Lester Cole
Screenwriter
Curt Siodmak
Screenwriter
Milton Krasner
Cinematographer
Charles Previn
Musical Direction/Supervision
Hans Salter
Composer (Music Score)
Frank Skinner
Composer (Music Score)
Frank Gross
Editor
Vera West
Costume Designer
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
Advertisement