Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Invisible Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A mysterious stranger, his face swathed in bandages and his eyes obscured by dark spectacles, has taken a room at a cozy inn in the British village of Ipping. Never leaving his quarters, the stranger demands that the staff leave him completely alone. Working unmolested with his test tubes, the stranger does not notice when the landlady inadvertently walks into his room one morning. But she notices that her guest seemingly has no head! The stranger, one Jack Griffin, is a scientist, who'd left Ipping several months earlier while conducting a series of tests with a strange new drug called monocane. He returns to the laboratory of his mentor, Dr. Cranley ([[Performer~P71634~Henry Travers~henrytravers]]), where he reveals his secret to onetime partner Dr. Kemp ([[Performer~P30555~William Harrigan~williamharrigan]]) and former fiancee Flora Cranley ([[Performer~P68812~Gloria Stuart~gloriastuart]]). Monocane is a formula for invisibility, and has rendered Griffin's entire body undetectable to the human eye. Alas, monocane has also had the side effect of driving Griffin insane. With megalomanic glee, Griffin takes Kemp into his confidence, explaining how he plans to prove his superiority over other humans by wreaking as much havoc as possible. At first, his pranks are harmless; then, without batting an eyelash, he turns to murder, beginning with the strangling of a comic-relief constable. When Kemp tries to turn Griffin over to the police, he himself is marked for death. Despite elaborate measures taken by the police, Griffin is able to murder Kemp, considerately taking the time to describe his homicidal methods to his helpless victim. After a reign of terror costing hundreds of lives, Griffin is cornered in a barn, his movements betrayed by his footsteps in the snow. Mortally wounded by police bullets, Griffin is taken to a hospital, where he regretfully tells Flora that he's paying the price for meddling into Things Men Should Not Know. As Griffin dies, his face becomes slowly visible: first the skull, then the nerve endings, then layer upon layer of raw flesh, until he is revealed to be [[Performer~P58546~Claude Rains~clauderains]], making his first American film appearance. So forceful was [[Performer~P58546~Rains~clauderains]]' verbal performance as "The Invisible One" that he became an overnight movie star (after nearly twenty years on stage). Wittily scripted by [[Performer~P164845~R.C. Sherriff~rcsherriff]] and an uncredited [[Performer~P166217~Philip Wylie~philipwylie]], and brilliantly directed by [[Performer~P116539~James Whale~jameswhale]], [[Feature~V176481~The Invisible Man~derunsichtbare]] is a near-untoppable combination of horror and humor. Also deserving of unqualified praise are the thorouhgly convincing special effects by John P. Fulton and John Mescall. With the exception of [[Feature~V25335~The Invisible Man Returns~theinvisiblemanreturns]], none of the sequels came anywhere close to the quality of the 1933 original. Trivia alert: watch for [[Performer~P25213~Dwight~dwightfrye]] "Renfield" Frye as a bespectacled reporter, [[Performer~P8313~Walter Brennan~walterbrennan]] as the man whose bicycle was stolen, and John Carradine as the fellow in the phone booth who's "gawt a plan to ketch the h'invisible man." ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 13, 1933

Cast

Claude Rains
as Jack Griffin/The Invisible One
Gloria Stuart
as Flora Cranley
Henry Travers
as Dr. Cranley
William Harrigan
as Doctor Kemp
Una O'Connor
as Mrs. Jenny Hall
Forrester Harvey
as Mr. Herbert Hall
Holmes Herbert
as Chief of Police
E.E. Clive
as Jaffers
Dudley Digges
as Chief of Detectives
Harry Stubbs
as Inspector Bird
Donald Stuart
as Inspector Lane
Merle Tottenham
as Milly
Jameson Thomas
as Doctor
Walter Brennan
as Bit Part
John Carradine
as Cockney informer
Dwight Frye
as Bit Part

Crew

James Whale
Director
Carl Laemmle, Jr.
Producer
Arthur Edeson
Cinematographer
Ted Kent
Editor
Charles Hall
Art Director
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
John Mescall
Special Effects
Jack P. Pierce
Makeup
Advertisement