Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Great Water Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A man near the end of his life relives a crucial period from his youth in this powerful drama. Lem Nikodinoski ([[Performer~P142075~Meto Jovanovski~metojovanovski]]) is a prominent Macedonian politician who has suffered a severe heart attack. As Lem drifts between life and death, his mind wanders to his childhood, and he observes his younger self (played by [[Performer~P421971~Saso Kekenovski~sasokekenovski]]) during his days in a camp for children whose parents were unwilling to embrace Russia's Stalinist regime following World War II. Ariton ([[Performer~P421973~Mitko Apostolovski~mitkoapostolovski]]), the camp's headmaster, is a strong taskmaster, but he displays a genuine compassion for his charges; Olivera ([[Performer~P358032~Verica Nedeska~vericanedeska]]), his second in command, takes a more stern approach, and is willing to dole out physical punishment to any child who does not absorb her Stalinist teachings. One day, a new boy enters the camp, Isak ([[Performer~P421972~Maja Stankovska~majastankovska]]), who displays a calm but resilient nature that's different from the fearful attitudes of the other children. After initial resistance, Lem becomes close friends with Isak, and their friendship helps Lem confront the horrors of camp life in a new way. Writer and director [[Performer~P275211~Ivo Trajkov~ivotrajkov]] cast teenage actress [[Performer~P421972~Maja Stankovska~majastankovska]] to play Isak after a long series of unsuccessful auditions failed to find a young man who had the right look for the role. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 30, 2004

Cast

Saso Kekenovski
as Lem Nikodinoski (as boy)
Maja Stankovska
as Isak
Mitko Apostolovski
as Ariton
Verica Nedeska
as Olivera
Risto Gogovski
as Bellman
Nikolina Kujaca
as Ariton's Wife
Meto Jovanovski
as Lem (as old man)
Rade Serbedzija
as narrator

Crew

Ivo Trajkov
Director
Ivo Trajkov
Producer
Vladimir Chrenovsky
Producer
Robert Jazadziski
Producer
Mile Arsovski
Producer
Suki Medencevic
Producer
Vladimir Blazevski
Screenwriter
Ivo Trajkov
Screenwriter
Suki Medencevic
Cinematographer
Kiril Dzajkovski
Composer (Music Score)
Atanas Georgiev
Editor
Kemal Hrustanovic
Production Designer
Kiril Spaseski
Art Director
Natasa Dimitrievska
Art Director
Zaklina Krstevska
Costume Designer
Atanas Georgiev
Sound/Sound Designer
Vladimir Chrenovsky
Sound/Sound Designer
Nenad Vukadinovic
Sound/Sound Designer
Filip Cemerski
First Assistant Director
Ivo Trajkov
Casting
Brand Ferro
Second Unit Camera
Advertisement