Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Goonies Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Leonard Maltin wasn't alone when he noticed similarities between Goonies and the 1934 Our Gang comedy [[Feature~V225675~Mama's Little Pirate~mamaslittlepirate]]. Adapted by [[Performer~P85595~Chris Columbus~chriscolumbus]] from a story by [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]], the film follows a group of misfit kids (including such second-generation Hollywoodites as [[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]] and [[Performer~P2649~Sean Astin~seanastin]]) as they search for buried treasure in a subterranean cavern. Here they cross the path of lady criminal Mama Fratelli ([[Performer~P58676~Anne Ramsey~anneramsey]]) and her outlaw brood. Fortunately, the kids manage to befriend Fratelli's hideously deformed (but soft-hearted) son ([[Performer~P46532~John Matuszak~johnmatuszak]]), who comes to their rescue. The Spielberg influence is most pronounced in the film's prologue and epilogue, when the viewer is advised that the film's real villains are a group of "Evil Land Developers." The musical score makes excellent use of [[Performer~P112635~Max Steiner~maxsteiner]]'s main theme from [[Feature~V938~The Adventures of Don Juan~theadventuresofdonjuan]], not to mention contributions by the likes of [[Performer~P101552~Richard Marx~richardmarx]] and [[Performer~P98866~Cyndi Lauper~cyndilauper]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 7, 1985

Cast

Sean Astin
as Mikey
Josh Brolin
as Brand
Corey Feldman
as Mouth
Kerri Green
as Andy
Martha Plimpton
as Stef
John Matuszak
as Sloth
Robert Davi
as Jake
Joe Pantoliano
as Francis
Anne Ramsey
as Mama Fratelli
Jane Feinberg
Curtis Hanson
as Mr. Perkins
Michael Paul Chan
as Data's Father
Eric Briant Wells
as Troy's Friend
Jack O'Leary
as Reporter
Mike Fenton
George Robotham
as Prison Guard
Jonathan Ke Quan
as Data
Steve Antin
as Troy
Patrick Cameron
as Reporter
Judy Taylor
Lupe Ontiveros
as Rosalita
Paul Tuerpé
as Sheriff
Max Segar
as Man in Shower
Mary Ellen Trainor
as Mrs. Walsh
Newt Arnold
as Man in Shower
Ted Grossman
as FBI Man
Jeb Stuart Adams
as Troy's Friend
Gene Ross
as Man in Shower

Crew

Richard Donner
Director
Richard Donner
Producer
Harvey Bernhard
Producer
Chris Columbus
Screenwriter
Steven Spielberg
Screen Story
Cyndi Lauper
Songwriter
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
John Turi
Songwriter
Teena Marie
Featured Music
Danny Sembello
Songwriter
Jules Shear
Songwriter
Robbie Kilgore
Songwriter
Arthur Stead
Songwriter
Arthur Baker
Songwriter
Susanna Hoffs
Songwriter
Vicki Peterson
Songwriter
Jimmy Bralower
Songwriter
Michael Kahn
Editor
J. Michael Riva
Production Designer
Rick Carter
Art Director
Kathleen Kennedy
Executive Producer
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Linda de Scenna
Set Designer
Richard La Motte
Costume Designer
Willie D. Burton
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael J. McAlister
Special Effects
Judy Taylor
Casting
Mike Fenton
Casting
Jane Feinberg
Casting
Steven Spielberg
Presented by
Richard L. Anderson
Supervising Sound Editor
Warren Hamilton
Sound Editor
Advertisement