Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The General's Daughter Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A murder on a military base unearths a netherworld of corruption in this thriller based on the novel by Nelson DeMille. General Joe Campbell ([[Performer~P15842~James Cromwell~jamescromwell]]) is a respected military leader with a flawless reputation; he's due to retire from the Army soon and is headed for a Vice-Presidential nomination. However, Campbell finds himself in both a personal and political crisis when his daughter is brutally murdered. Captain Elizabeth Campbell ([[Performer~P230866~Leslie Stefanson~lesliestefanson]]) was beautiful, intelligent, disciplined, and well-regarded, the very model of an ideal female officer; she was also stationed at the same base as her father. Paul Brenner ([[Performer~P71670~John Travolta~johntravolta]]), a warrant officer of the Army's Criminal Investigation Division, is assigned to look into the case alongside CID officer Sara Sunhill ([[Performer~P68576~Madeleine Stowe~madeleinestowe]]). Brenner and Sunhill were once romantically involved, complicating an assignment that soon offers more than enough complications of its own. Brenner and Sunhill come to realize that, for all her accomplishments, Elizabeth carried a lifetime of emotional scars from emotional abuse and sexual harassment, and that, despite the General's reputation, his relationship with his daughter was not always a happy or healthy one. It also seems possible that the General's second-in-command, General George Fowler ([[Performer~P76410~Clarence Williams III~clarencewilliamsiii]]), a likely candidate for the Joint Chiefs of Staff, may also be implicated in the crime. The General's Daughter was the second feature film for director [[Performer~P128712~Simon West~simonwest]]; his full-length debut was [[Feature~V154933~Con Air~conair]] (1997), after a long string of successful television commercials and music videos. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 18, 1999

Cast

John Travolta
as Paul Brenner
Madeleine Stowe
as Sara Sunhill
James Cromwell
as Gen. Joe Campbell
Timothy Hutton
as Col. Kent
Leslie Stefanson
as Elisabeth Campbell
Daniel Von Bargen
as Chief Yardley
Clarence Williams III
as Col. George Fowler
James Woods
as Col. Moore
Peter Weireter
as Belling
Mark Boone, Jr.
as Elkins
John Beasley
as Col. Slesinger
Boyd Kestner
as Captain Elby
Brad Beyer
as Bransford
John Benjamin Hickey
as Capt. Goodson
Rick Dial
as Cal Seiver
Ariyan Johnson
as PFC Robbins
John Frankenheimer
as Gen. Sonnenberg

Crew

Simon West
Director
Mace Neufeld
Producer
William Goldman
Screenwriter
Christopher Bertolini
Screenwriter
Nelson DeMille
Book Author
Peter Menzies, Jr.
Cinematographer
Carter Burwell
Composer (Music Score)
Glen Scantlebury
Editor
Dennis Washington
Production Designer
Ann Harris
Art Director
Tom Taylor
Art Director
Stratton Leopold
Co-producer
Anson Downes
Associate Producer
Linda Rae Favila
Associate Producer
Jonathan D. Krane
Executive Producer
Lorrie Campbell
Set Designer
Marvin March
Set Designer
Lynn Christopher
Set Designer
Beverly Eagen
Set Designer
Erica Phillips
Costume Designer
Stephen Flick
Sound/Sound Designer
Thomas D. Causey
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Danton
First Assistant Director
Mindy Marin
Casting
Stephen Flick
Sound Editor
Ray Colcord
Additional Music
Advertisement