Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Door in the Floor Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P263782~Tod Williams~todwilliams]] served as both director and screenwriter for this drama, adapted from a portion of [[Performer~P275286~John Irving~johnirving]]'s novel A Widow for One Year. Ted and Marion Cole ([[Performer~P3197~Jeff Bridges~jeffbridges]] and [[Performer~P4427~Kim Basinger~kimbasinger]]) are a couple whose marriage is on the verge of collapse. After their two teenage sons died in an auto accident, Marion fell into a deep depression from which she has never fully emerged. Meanwhile, Ted has drifted into repeated infidelity, his most recent mistress being the sexually ravenous Mrs. Vaughn ([[Performer~P61121~Mimi Rogers~mimirogers]]), and neither Ted nor Marion are willing or able to devote their full attention to their surviving daughter, Ruth ([[Performer~P360006~Elle Fanning~ellefanning]]). Ted, a successful author of books for children, hires Eddie ([[Performer~P298142~Jon Foster~jonfoster]]), a bright 16-year-old prep-school student, to help him edit his latest manuscript. But Ted is fully aware that Eddie bears a striking resemblance to one of his late sons -- and that this would have a powerful effect on Marion. Eddie quickly develops a strong attraction to his employer's beautiful wife, and Marion, torn between grief and desire, draws him into a sexual relationship that brings the family's many emotional crises to the breaking point. The Door in the Floor also features [[Performer~P272318~Bijou Phillips~bijouphillips]] and [[Performer~P405469~Louis Arcella~louisarcella]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 18, 2004

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Tod Williams Best Screenplay 2004 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Jeff Bridges Best Actor 2004 Nominee
Boston Society of Film Critics Kim Basinger Best Actress - Runner-up 2004 Winner

Cast

Jeff Bridges
as Ted Cole
Kim Basinger
as Marion Cole
Jon Foster
as Eddie O'Hare
Mimi Rogers
as Eleanor Vaughn
Elle Fanning
as Ruth Cole
Bijou Phillips
as Alice
Louis Arcella
as Eduardo Gomez

Crew

Tod Williams
Director
Michael Corrente
Producer
Ted Hope
Producer
Anne Carey
Producer
John Irving
Book Author
Tod Williams
Screenwriter
Terry Stacey
Cinematographer
Beth Amy Rosenblatt
Musical Direction/Supervision
Marcelo Zarvos
Composer (Music Score)
Affonso Goncalves
Editor
Therese DePrez
Production Designer
Nicholas Lundy
Art Director
Marisa Polvino
Co-producer
Amy J. Kaufman
Executive Producer
Roger Marino
Executive Producer
Eric Daman
Costume Designer
Nicholas Evans
Set Decorator
Chip Signore
First Assistant Director
Ann Goulder
Casting
Stan Sztaba
Negative Cutter
Doug Salamone
Driver
Rich Marino
Driver
Mike Scalice
Driver
Ray Moyer
Driver
Martin DeMartino
Driver
Donald Sweeney
Driver
Advertisement