Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Don Is Dead Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this organized crime drama (one of many that came in the wake of [[Feature~V20076~The Godfather~thegodfather]]), Frank ([[Performer~P90191~Robert Forster~robertforster]]) is the son of a mafia kingpin. He puts together a heroin deal with the assist of brothers Vince ([[Performer~P42033~Al Lettieri~allettieri]]) and Tony ([[Performer~P24332~Frederic Forrest~fredericforrest]]), but realizes that a snitch is present when gunmen burst in and interrupt the drug deal. Shortly thereafter, Frank's father dies. The old man's rackets get divided between two mob families, one headed up by Don Angelo ([[Performer~P107297~Anthony Quinn~anthonyquinn]]) - but Vince and Tony refuse to follow Angelo's leadership. In the mean time, mob accountant Orlando ([[Performer~P13231~Charles Cioffi~charlescioffi]]), whose boss, Don Bernardo ([[Performer~P62276~J. Duke Russo~jdukerusso]]), is behind bars, devises and begins to execute a wild plan to bring himself to a position of power in the mob; he engineers a situation that will put Frank's sexy fiancee Ruby (Angel Tompkins) into the arms of Don Angelo, thereby sending Frank into a murderous rage. Cult figure [[Performer~P29604~Sid Haig~sidhaig]] has a supporting role as The Arab. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Anthony Quinn
as Don Angelo
Frederic Forrest
as Tony
Robert Forster
as Frank
Al Lettieri
as Vince
Angel Tompkins
as Ruby
Charles Cioffi
as Orlando
Ina Balin
as Nella
Frank de Kova
as Giunta
George Skaff
as Vito
Frank Christi
as Harold Early
Victor Argo
as Augie The Horse
Joe Santos
as Joe Lucci
Abe Vigoda
as Don Tolusso
Val Bisoglio
as Pete Lazatti
Sid Haig
as The Arab
Vic Tayback
as Ralph Negri
Louis Zorich
as Mitch
Maurice Sherbanee
as Corsican
Anthony Charnota
as Johnny Tresca

Crew

Richard Fleischer
Director
Hal B. Wallis
Producer
Michael Butler
Screenwriter
Christopher Trumbo
Screenwriter
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Ronald Pierce
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement