Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Distinguished Gentleman Details


A smooth-talking confidence trickster makes his way into congress (where the cynical would suggest he'd have plenty of company) in this comedy. Thomas Jefferson Johnson (Eddie Murphy) is a con man from Florida who gets the bright idea that a scam artist could make a tidy sum if he was able to get inside the political arena. When a Florida congressman named Jeff Johnson dies and a special election is held to replace him, Thomas puts his name on the ballot as "Jeff Johnson," and enough confused voters check the ballot for him that he wins the race and is on his way to Washington D.C. Johnson soon finds a mentor in Dick Dodge (Lane Smith), chairman of the Power and Industry Committee, who shows Johnson the ropes on raking in PAC money while the late Mr. Johnson's aide, Reinhardt (Grant Shaud), gives him the inside scoop on how things work in Washington. Johnson's plans are going just as he hoped until he meets Celia Kirby (Victoria Rowell), a volunteer lobbyist and political activist whose uncle is a noted religious leader, The Rev. Elijah Hawkins (Charles S. Dutton). Johnson quickly becomes smitten with Celia, but it's obvious that she's not buying his act, and if he wants to win her heart, he'll have to stop fooling people into thinking he's honest and actually be honest. Joe Don Baker and Sheryl Lee Ralph also co-star. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 4, 1992


Eddie Murphy
as Thomas Jefferson Johnson
Lane Smith
as Dick Dodge
Sheryl Lee Ralph
as Miss Loretta
Joe Don Baker
as Olaf Anderson
Victoria Rowell
as Celia Kirby
Grant Shaud
as Arthur Reinhardt
Kevin McCarthy
as Terry Corrigan
Charles S. Dutton
as Elijah Hawkins
Victor Rivers
as Armando
Noble Willingham
as Zeke Bridges
Gary Frank
as Iowa
Daniel Petrie
as Asbestos Lobbyist
Richard Anders
as Poultry Lobbyist
Doris Grau
as Hattie Rifkin
Sarah Carson
as Kimberly
David A. Penhale
as Voting Husband
Susan Forristal
as Ellen Juba
Brian Gelatto
as Crabhouse Waiter
Julianna McCarthy
as Blue Haired Lady
Nina Totenberg
as Election Anchor
J.D. Williams
as Himself
James Garner
as Jeff Johnson
Daniel Benzali
as "Skeeter" Warburton
Cliff Bemis
as Gun Lobbyist
Prudence Barry
as Teacher
Roger E. Reid
as Florida Reporter
Brad Koepenick
as Rafe Simon
Tom Dahlgren
as Chief of Police
Angela Stribling
as DC Anchor
Cynthia Harris
as Vera Johnson
Gary Price
as Taxi Driver
Patricia Ciaffa
as DC Correspondent
Tom Finnegan
as Ethics Committee Chair
Dion Anderson
as Distilled Spirits Lobbyist
Mary Goldberg
Mel Owens
as Bo Chandler
Cordis Heard
as Voting Wife
Dianne Turley Travis
as Mrs. Dodge
Rosanna Huffman
as Mrs. Bridges
John Doolittle
as Ira Schecter
Tommy Boggs
as Himself
Marty Kaplan
as Ned Grable
Autumn Winters
as Mickey John
Stu Levin
as Tobacco Lobbyist
Frances Foster
as Grandma


Jonathan Lynn
Michael Peyser
Marty Kaplan
Marty Kaplan
Jonathan Reynolds
Gabriel Beristain
Randy Edelman
Composer (Music Score)
Tony Lombardo
Leslie Dilley
Production Designer
Ed Verreaux
Art Director
Dorree Cooper
Set Designer
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck
Costume Designer
Richard H. Prince
Production Manager
Mary Goldberg