Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Dirty Dozen Details


Director Robert Aldrich took what he considered a hopelessly old-fashioned script by Lukas Heller and Nunnally Johnson and fashioned The Dirty Dozen into one of MGM's biggest moneymakers of the 1960s--and the sixth highest-grossing film in the studio's history. Lee Marvin plays Major Reisman, assigned to coordinate a suicide mission on a French chateau held by top Nazi officers. Since no "normal" GI can be expected to volunteer for this mission, Reisman is compelled to draw his personnel from a group of military prisoners serving life sentences. This "dirty dozen" includes a sex pervert (Telly Savalas), a psycho (John Cassavetes), a retarded killer (Donald Sutherland), and the equally malevolent Charles Bronson, Trini Lopez, Jim Brown, and Clint Walker. On the dim promise of receiving pardons if they survive, the criminals undergo a brutal training program, then are marched behind enemy lines dressed as Nazi soldiers, the better to overtake the chateau and kill everyone in it--including the innocent wives and mistresses of the German officers. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 15, 1967


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Poyner Best Sound Effects 1967 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association John Cassavetes Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1967 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Cassavetes Best Supporting Actor 1967 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Robert Aldrich Best Director 1967 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Michael Luciano Best Editing 1967 Nominee


Lee Marvin
as Maj. Reisman
Ernest Borgnine
as Gen. Worden
Charles Bronson
as Joseph Wladislaw
Jim Brown
as Robert Jefferson
John Cassavetes
as Victor Franko
George Kennedy
as Maj. Max Armbruster
Richard Jaeckel
as Sgt. Bowren
Robert Ryan
as Col. Everett Dasher-Breed
Ralph Meeker
as Capt. Stuart Kinder
Telly Savalas
as Archer Maggott
Clint Walker
as Samson Posey
Donald Sutherland
as Vernon Pinkley
Robert Webber
as Gen. Denton
Tom Busby
as Milo Vladek
Ben Carruthers
as Glenn Gilpin
Robert Phillips
as Corporal Carl Morgan
Colin Maitland
as Seth Sawyer
Al Mancini
as Tassos Bravos
Thick Wilson
as Worden's Aide
Dora Reisser
as German Officer's Girl
Dick Miller
George Roubicek
as Pvt. Arthur James Gardner


Robert Aldrich
Lukas Heller
Nunnally Johnson
Edward Scaife
Mack David
Frank De Vol
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Luciano
W.E. Hutchinson
Art Director
William Hutchinson
Art Director
Bert Batt
First Assistant Director
Tony Spratling
Camera Operator
Wally Schneiderman
Ernest Gasser