Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Devil's Advocate Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Supernatural forces hover over the courtroom in this devilish drama adapted from the novel by Andrew Neiderman. Attorney Kevin Lomax ([[Performer~P59355~Keanu Reeves~keanureeves]]) doesn't heed the Bible-based warnings of his mother ([[Performer~P34708~Judith Ivey~judithivey]]), who views New York City as "the dwelling place of demons." Instead, he leaves Gainesville, Florida, with his wife Mary Ann ([[Performer~P216257~Charlize Theron~charlizetheron]]) to put his legalistic skills to the test at a leading Manhattan law firm run by John Milton ([[Performer~P54596~Al Pacino~alpacino]]). It all goes smoothly -- with Milton urging them to stay, putting Kevin on a $400-per-hour salary, and moving the couple into a luxurious apartment in his own building on Fifth Avenue -- where Mary Ann falls under the influence of neighbor Jackie ([[Performer~P72106~Tamara Tunie~tamaratunie]]). After Kevin defends a weird animal sacrificer ([[Performer~P42509~Delroy Lindo~delroylindo]], uncredited), he moves up to an important case with an apparent murderer, real-estate tycoon Alexander Cullen ([[Performer~P52169~Craig T. Nelson~craigtnelson]]). Ignored by Kevin, the troubled Mary Ann has some disturbing experiences, verging on the occult, while Kevin, at work, becomes attracted to redhead Christabella (Connie Neilsen). Dazzled by his entrance into paradise, Kevin doesn't grasp who handed him this Big-Apple success. Could it be...Satan? The film features demonic creatures by [[Performer~P80455~Rick Baker~rickbaker]]. Cameos (Senator Alfonse D'Amato, Don King, others) add to the ambiance of ambition and power in the canyons of Manhattan. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:October 17, 1997

Cast

Keanu Reeves
as Kevin Lomax
Al Pacino
as John Milton
Charlize Theron
as Mary Ann Lomax
Jeffrey Jones
as Eddie Barzoon
Monica Keena
as Alessandra Cullen
Judith Ivey
as Mrs. Lomax
Connie Nielsen
as Christabella
Craig T. Nelson
as Alexander Cullen
Tamara Tunie
as Jackie Heath
Ruben Santiago-Hudson
as Leamon Heath
Debra Monk
as Pam Garrety
Vyto Ruginis
as Weaver
Laura Harrington
as Melissa Black
Pamela Gray
as Diana Barzoon
Heather Matarazzo
as Barbara
Delroy Lindo
as Santeria Practitioner

Crew

Taylor Hackford
Director
Arnold Kopelson
Producer
Anne Kopelson
Producer
Arnon Milchan
Producer
Andrew Neiderman
Book Author
Tony Gilroy
Screenwriter
Jonathan Lemkin
Screenwriter
Andrzej Bartkowiak
Cinematographer
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Warner
Editor
Bruno Rubeo
Production Designer
Dennis Bradford
Art Director
Stephen Brown
Co-producer
Barry Bernardi
Executive Producer
Michael Tadross
Executive Producer
Erwin Stoff
Executive Producer
Steve White
Executive Producer
Taylor Hackford
Executive Producer
Roberta J. Holinko
Set Designer
Judianna Makovsky
Costume Designer
Burtt Harris
First Assistant Director
Thomas A. Reilly
First Assistant Director
Nancy Klopper
Casting
Mary Colquhoun
Casting
Kevin Bartnof
Foley Artist
Advertisement