Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Dead Girl Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P49967~Karen Moncrieff~karenmoncrieff]], the Independent Spirit Award-nominated director of [[Feature~V260305~Blue Car~bluecar]], assembles a stellar cast comprised of [[Performer~P14165~Toni Collette~tonicollette]], [[Performer~P299361~James Franco~jamesfranco]], [[Performer~P216061~Giovanni Ribisi~giovanniribisi]], and [[Performer~P34101~Mary Beth Hurt~marybethhurt]] to tell the tale of one girl's mysterious death, and how the tragic actions of the people who surround her eventually led to her savage murder. When the brutalized and lifeless body of a once-vital young girl ([[Performer~P200519~Brittany Murphy~brittanymurphy]]) is discovered, a community is scarred by the unspeakable horror of seeing one of their own so viciously desecrated. But the discovery of the body is just the beginning of the story, and now as a wife uncovers her husband's dark secret, a mother searches frantically for her missing daughter, and a series of other, seemingly unrelated occurrences slowly begin to converge, the heartbreaking truth behind a tragic act of violence will shake the very foundation of a once close-knit community. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:December 29, 2006

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
San Diego Film Critics Association Karen Moncrieff Best Original Screenplay 2006 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Karen Moncrieff Best Director 2006 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Mary Beth Hurt Best Supporting Actress 2006 Nominee

Cast

Toni Collette
as Arden
Rose Byrne
as Leah
Mary Beth Hurt
as Ruth
Marcia Gay Harden
as Melora
Brittany Murphy
as Krista
Kerry Washington
as Rosetta
Piper Laurie
as Arden's Mother
Giovanni Ribisi
as Rudy
James Franco
as Derek
Mary Steenburgen
as Beverly
Bruce Davison
as Bill
Nick Searcy
as Carl
Josh Brolin
as Tarlow
Christopher Allen Nelson
as Murray
Dennis Keifer
as Tom
Elizabeth Pernoll
as Ashley
Gillian Pernoll
as Ashley

Crew

Karen Moncrieff
Director
Kevin Turen
Producer
Tom Rosenberg
Producer
Richard S. Wright
Producer
Eric Karten
Producer
Gary Lucchesi
Producer
Karen Moncrieff
Screenwriter
Michael Grady
Cinematographer
Adam Gorgoni
Composer (Music Score)
Toby Yates
Editor
Kristan Andrews
Production Designer
David Scott Rubin
Executive Producer
Eric Reid
Executive Producer
Terry McKay
Executive Producer
Temple Williams
Executive Producer
Bryan John Venegas
Set Decorator
Jonathan Miller
Sound/Sound Designer
Deborah Aquila
Casting
Tricia Wood
Casting
Trish Almeida
Key Hairstylist
Thomas Tannenberger
Visual Effects Supervisor
Jonathan Miller
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement