Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys brings [[Performer~P309638~Chris Fuhrman~chrisfuhrman]]'s well-received, posthumously published teen novel to the screen. Set in the 1970s, the film concerns two rebellious Catholic schoolboys -- bashful, pensive Francis ([[Performer~P239003~Emile Hirsch~emilehirsch]]) and whip-smart, impulsive Tim ([[Performer~P16080~Kieran Culkin~kieranculkin]]) -- who spend their free time pulling elaborate pranks and creating a comic book featuring themselves and their friends, Wade ([[Performer~P270865~Jake Richardson~jakerichardson]]) and Joey ([[Performer~P303678~Tyler Long~tylerlong]]), as superheroes. Their alter egos are brought to life in animated sequences by [[Feature~V262785~Spawn~spawn[animatedtvseries]]] creator [[Performer~P228203~Todd McFarlane~toddmcfarlane]]. Their grim, strict, one-legged teacher, Sister Assumpta ([[Performer~P90220~Jodie Foster~jodiefoster]]), is drawn as a motorcycle-riding supervillain. [[Performer~P16486~Vincent D'Onofrio~vincentdonofrio]] plays the more easygoing Father Casey. Egged on by Tim, Francis admits that he has a crush on Margie Flynn ([[Performer~P228556~Jena Malone~jenamalone]]). Tim encourages Francis to pursue Margie, at one point even sending her a mash note and signing his friend's name. Francis and Margie eventually begin seeing each other. But when Margie reveals a terrible, painful secret to Francis, it sets off a chain of events that leads to tragedy. The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys marks the feature debut of director [[Performer~P212653~Peter Care~petercare]]. It was screened at several festivals, including the 2002 Sundance Film Festival. The film sparked a small controversy at the 2001 Cannes Film Festival, where it was rejected, allegedly in retaliation for producer [[Performer~P90220~Foster~jodiefoster]]'s decision to forego heading up the fest's jury in order to replace [[Performer~P38065~Nicole Kidman~nicolekidman]] in [[Feature~V259522~Panic Room~panicroom]]. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:June 14, 2002

Cast

Kieran Culkin
as Tim Sullivan
Jena Malone
as Margie Flynn
Emile Hirsch
as Francis Doyle
Vincent D'Onofrio
as Father Casey
Jodie Foster
as Sister Assumpta
Jake Richardson
as Wade
Tyler Long
as Joey Scalisi
Kelvin O'Bryant
as Craig Dockery

Crew

Peter Care
Director
Meg LeFauve
Producer
Jodie Foster
Producer
Jay Shapiro
Producer
Jeff Stockwell
Screenwriter
Michael Petroni
Screenwriter
Lance Acord
Cinematographer
Marco Beltrami
Composer (Music Score)
Chris Peppe
Editor
Gideon Ponte
Production Designer
Tim Harbert
Co-producer
John K. Watson
Executive Producer
Graham King
Executive Producer
David A. Jones
Executive Producer
Pen Densham
Executive Producer
Marie France
Costume Designer
Carl Rudisill
Sound/Sound Designer
Scott Cameron
First Assistant Director
Laray Mayfield
Casting
Terry Fitzgerald
Animation Producer
Eric Radomski
Animation Producer
Todd McFarlane
Animation Producer
Advertisement